PDA

View Full Version : JAM Study Manual

Will Durant
12-25-2007, 12:55 PM
I am not impressed so far. The old JAM5 and JAM6 manuals demonstrated a much greater mastery of the material. This APM manual seems to have been written by somebody who does not understand the syllabus as well as I do (i.e., I think my own summary is better than the guide). I've only gotten as far as page 17 and already found two errors.

Will Durant
12-25-2007, 12:55 PM
Yes, I'm studying on Christmas morning.

Car'a'carn
12-25-2007, 01:23 PM
I haven't been impressed with it either, but since Goldfarb's manual will not be ready until Feb. 1, I am still using it. Besides Golfarb does not make a good job, imo, on the summaries either, but is very good at explaining, so I will probably stick with both.

Will Durant
12-25-2007, 01:45 PM
I haven't been impressed with it either, but since Goldfarb's manual will not be ready until Feb. 1, I am still using it. Besides Golfarb does not make a good job, imo, on the summaries either, but is very good at explaining, so I will probably stick with both.
I've liked Macciolo (Actex) in the past, so I am probably going to pick that one up when it comes out.

Car'a'carn
12-25-2007, 05:35 PM
I've liked Macciolo (Actex) in the past, so I am probably going to pick that one up when it comes out.

I hated Actex for 1-4 exams and never used it for the essay ones. Do they explain, or just trow bunch of formulae as usual?

Will Durant
12-25-2007, 07:23 PM
I hated Actex for 1-4 exams and never used it for the essay ones. Do they explain, or just trow bunch of formulae as usual?
Macciolo's guides for 6 and 8V were very good; I have not seen the APM one but if it's up to his usual standards it should be very helpful. I got JAM because it came out first. My company only pays for one guide, but I will probably buy Actex anyway.