PDA

View Full Version : Actuarial Science Major w/ Math, Stat minors - what are my fallback options?

pma501
06-16-2008, 09:02 AM
I'm a rising college sophomore majoring in Actuarial Science at Penn State. We have two choices at PSU - math major with an actuarial option (focus) or business school's actuarial science major. The business school is ranked pretty high at PSU (top 20 nationally I think), and I got into an accelerated program for business students, so I went with the business school actuarial science major and never thought twice about it. Now I'm wondering if I might be smart to change into the college of science and do the math route when I still have time left to do that without losing too many credits of now-useless business classes. For what it's worth, I should mention I'm minoring in math and statistics with the business degree.

What can I fall back on with my actuarial science degree if I decide I don't want to be an actuary? What would I gain from having the broader math major? Do you perceive any advantage to the actuarial science major aside from the accelerated program? If I decided I wanted to teach (say, high school), what would I need to do to be certified in either case?

I'm very confident that I will follow through and be an actuary, but it worries me a little to put all my eggs in one basket anyway.

Jack
06-16-2008, 09:10 AM
Lot's of guys working on the street have math or physics degrees. Any idiot can get a business degree a math degree opens more doors if you don't like working in actuarial science.

DW Simpson
06-16-2008, 09:38 AM
What can I fall back on with my actuarial science degree if I decide I don't want to be an actuary?

http://www.actuarialoutpost.com/actuarial_discussion_forum/showpost.php?p=830113&postcount=8

Darkness Falls
06-16-2008, 09:54 AM