Actuarial Outpost

Actuarial Outpost (http://www.actuarialoutpost.com/actuarial_discussion_forum/index.php)
-   Examens Actuariels: Franšais (http://www.actuarialoutpost.com/actuarial_discussion_forum/forumdisplay.php?f=83)
-   -   Reefed (http://www.actuarialoutpost.com/actuarial_discussion_forum/showthread.php?t=329848)

CrunchinNumbers 02-05-2018 12:21 PM

Reefed

I am a recent college grad, who got a degree in finance from a somewhat decent school in my area. I say decent because it is very well known in the area, just no actuary program. I thought I wanted to get my CFA at first, but I later found myself being more drawn to actuarial science. So I was already half way done, before I even knew actuaries existed. I bring this up because literally 10 minutes down the road form my school is another university that is well known for actuarial science, and has 100% job placement. So I am fighting these graduates to begin with; however, I was able to pass P and FM while still enrolled in college, and working 40 hours a week in accounting/AP. So, I felt/thought I would be a strong candidate against someone who only went to school to pass these exams. Turns out, I don't even get a thanks for trying email haha. Another problem is my "geographical location," I get turned down a lot with this phrase in there as well. I am currently in St. Louis, MO. I work in corporate finance, as an analyst, for a big well, known mid-western bank, and have been here for only 7 months. I needed "analyst" experience, and felt that this was a great career move.