Actuarial Outpost

Actuarial Outpost (http://www.actuarialoutpost.com/actuarial_discussion_forum/index.php)
-   Brigham Young University (http://www.actuarialoutpost.com/actuarial_discussion_forum/forumdisplay.php?f=116)
-   -   BYU Grad working in Casualty field in Northeast (http://www.actuarialoutpost.com/actuarial_discussion_forum/showthread.php?t=90171)

Levin 08-29-2006 04:42 PM

BYU Grad working in Casualty field in Northeast

Just putting myself out here as an contact for any BYU grads looking into casualty actuarial work. I'm currently working in the Northeast, where you will find many actuarial jobs.

Take 2 05-22-2007 06:53 PM

When I was finishing high school (in Salt Lake City, 1968), BYU had no act sci program, but I just wanted a BA in math. When I approached BYU profs, they recommended U of U as having a stronger math program. So I graduated from U of U, but am glad BYU has considerably strengthened its math, stat, & act sci.

BYU sent a statistics prof to Salt Lake for a summer, to the company where I was in my first actuarial position, to learn about actuarial work. He had passed the calculus & prob/stat actuarial exams (Parts 1 & 2 then), so he was qualified to work in the actuarial department. He helped me with my prob/stat, and took what he learned back to BYU to help start its actuarial program. :heynow:

Genki 09-12-2007 10:05 PM

Glad to see there are other fellow Utahns out there. I went to Utah State University as well as U of U for a year. I was disappointed the U of U didn't have an actuarial program when i was there (2002).

I now work for a health/life company in the Chicago area. Any other Chicago area folks from Utah out there?

:popcorn:

soyleche 09-12-2007 10:44 PM

I work in Virginia. If anyone wants to give that a try let me know and I'll point you in the right direction.