Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Upload your resume securely at https://www.dwsimpson.com
to be contacted when new jobs meet your skills and objectives.

Old 06-01-2020, 06:54 PM
SOA

Default Is stopping at ASA bad for my career?

Long story short, I graduated 3.5 years ago, accumulated a significant experience close to 3 years. I have only PA left to get my ASA. I am feeling really burned out by these exams and highly considering stopping at ASA. I have other more important goals in life and was wondering if it could negatively impact my career? Do you know someone at the companies you worked for in this situation but still has a good career out of it?
Old 06-01-2020, 07:00 PM

Favorite beer: pilseners

It's quite bad for your career, but that doesn't mean you won't have a good career. Career ASA's make a lot more than median wage. In my company they generally make 6 figures, and become managers. They don't usually get to be directors and above.

Also life is long. You could put it off for 15 years, and then be more in the mood.

Last edited by Sredni Vashtar; 06-01-2020 at 07:07 PM..
Old 06-01-2020, 07:17 PM
Non-Actuary

Need significantly more detail. What specialty? What are your career goals? What are your actual skills? Most CEOs (even of insurance companies) are not actuaries, so the answer is ... it depends.
Usually while I'm reading, I'm actually thinking about...midgets riding toy horses - Roto

Old 06-01-2020, 08:24 PM

If you want to stay as an actuary, FSA is pretty important. But many people have other skills and actuary is a stepping stone to doing something else anyway - later they do FP&A or something else using similar skills, or even something actuary-adjacent, like actuarial software.