Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Search Actuarial Jobs by State @ DWSimpson.com:
AL AK AR AZ CA CO CT DE FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA
ME MD MA MI MN MS MO MT NE NH NJ NM NY NV NC ND
OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-20-2005, 05:46 PM
mr.c's Avatar
mr.c mr.c is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Arnold's Drive-In
Posts: 640
Default

[yawn] I did that with my Palm Pilot 5+ years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-20-2005, 06:06 PM
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
Wannabe Actuary Wannabe Actuary is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: in front of a computer screen
Favorite beer: KCCO Gold Lager
Posts: 32,238
Default

my palm came with a universal remote program built in....
__________________
Official Poster of Post 1,234,567

Quote:
Originally Posted by rawl316 View Post
I like playing with myself
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-15-2005, 01:40 PM
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
Wannabe Actuary Wannabe Actuary is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: in front of a computer screen
Favorite beer: KCCO Gold Lager
Posts: 32,238
Default

the newest model I've seen, the 880 looks sweet!!

should have gotten it when it was featured on www.hot-deals.org

at that point dell home had a 30% off coupon and it was 176 or so...

it'll likely cost me more now unless I find another special at some point, but this one looks like the winner...

PS - the listing for it is still up on hot-deals, but the coupon is expired...
__________________
Official Poster of Post 1,234,567

Quote:
Originally Posted by rawl316 View Post
I like playing with myself
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-22-2005, 09:12 PM
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
Wannabe Actuary Wannabe Actuary is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: in front of a computer screen
Favorite beer: KCCO Gold Lager
Posts: 32,238
Default

picked up the 880 tonight and got it all set up, no problems..set up favorite channels, with images...this thing rocks.
__________________
Official Poster of Post 1,234,567

Quote:
Originally Posted by rawl316 View Post
I like playing with myself
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-06-2005, 12:42 PM
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
Wannabe Actuary Wannabe Actuary is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: in front of a computer screen
Favorite beer: KCCO Gold Lager
Posts: 32,238
Default

update, played around with the 880 and added buttons for the "watch tv" activity so I had all the buttons I need right at my disposal. Had to program the "menu" button direct from my cable box remote. The 'menu' and 'guide' buttons were both working at 'guide' from the harmony database. Everything is working like a charm. Good battery life, and gotta love the auto illumination based on a tilt sensor in the remote. Freakin' sweet!
__________________
Official Poster of Post 1,234,567

Quote:
Originally Posted by rawl316 View Post
I like playing with myself
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-06-2005, 01:06 PM
mjb's Avatar
mjb mjb is offline
Wiki Contributor
SOA
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: K/W
Posts: 952
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wannabe Actuary
update, played around with the 880 and added buttons for the "watch tv" activity so I had all the buttons I need right at my disposal. Had to program the "menu" button direct from my cable box remote. The 'menu' and 'guide' buttons were both working at 'guide' from the harmony database. Everything is working like a charm. Good battery life, and gotta love the auto illumination based on a tilt sensor in the remote. Freakin' sweet!
Glad you're enjoying it. I'm still enjoying mine, but the 880 does sound pretty sweet. I love the idea of the tilt sensor for the illumination. I've never been able to figure out why the illumination light is always mixed in with the other buttons on remote controls. If it's dark, I can't find it! I always thought they should put it on the side of the remote.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-06-2005, 01:10 PM
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
Wannabe Actuary Wannabe Actuary is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: in front of a computer screen
Favorite beer: KCCO Gold Lager
Posts: 32,238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjb
Glad you're enjoying it. I'm still enjoying mine, but the 880 does sound pretty sweet. I love the idea of the tilt sensor for the illumination. I've never been able to figure out why the illumination light is always mixed in with the other buttons on remote controls. If it's dark, I can't find it! I always thought they should put it on the side of the remote.
yeah, there is a setting to turn the tilt sensor off, and the glow button is in the center, right below the screen. I wouldn't be able to find it.

Do the other models not have the tilt sensor?
__________________
Official Poster of Post 1,234,567

Quote:
Originally Posted by rawl316 View Post
I like playing with myself
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-06-2005, 01:27 PM
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
Wannabe Actuary Wannabe Actuary is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: in front of a computer screen
Favorite beer: KCCO Gold Lager
Posts: 32,238
Default

FYI
http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/pr...ONTENTID=10930
they have an 890 that uses both RF and IR...so no direct line of sight to the components is needed (a nice feature), and it can control 'lighting and household appliances'...not that useful of a feature for most I would guess. unless there are other major fetaures added that I'm missing...it isn't worth spending $150 MORE than the cost of the 880
__________________
Official Poster of Post 1,234,567

Quote:
Originally Posted by rawl316 View Post
I like playing with myself
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-06-2005, 02:29 PM
Bama Gambler's Avatar
Bama Gambler Bama Gambler is offline
James Washer / Notes Contributor
SOA
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: B'ham, AL
Posts: 17,218
Default

I have the 659 and I love it, BUT my batteries don't last long at all. Is there a way to preserve the batteries longer? Or do I need to buy some rechargable batteries.
__________________

We help people pass actuarial exams.

Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn.

Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-06-2005, 03:01 PM
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
Wannabe Actuary Wannabe Actuary is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: in front of a computer screen
Favorite beer: KCCO Gold Lager
Posts: 32,238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Gambler
I have the 659 and I love it, BUT my batteries don't last long at all. Is there a way to preserve the batteries longer? Or do I need to buy some rechargable batteries.
not sure about the 659. The 880 has a Lithium Ion battery and a charging cradle. I simply put in on the cradle each night, and I never lose more than one battery bar per day....unless I plug it into the PC and am playing around with buttons and feature changes.

I would look into rechargeable batteries if I were you.
__________________
Official Poster of Post 1,234,567

Quote:
Originally Posted by rawl316 View Post
I like playing with myself
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
harmony, remote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.42509 seconds with 10 queries