Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions


Not looking for a job? Tell us about your ideal job,
and we'll only contact you when it opens up.
https://www.dwsimpson.com/register


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2013, 09:51 AM
mlschop's Avatar
mlschop mlschop is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36,419
Default TiVo Roamio

I think a lot of people end up settling for cable box DVRs or homemade PC/Linux boxes, but I'm still a TiVo customer. I have a Series 3 TiVo HD and it's really starting to feel like a dinosaur.

TiVo announced their new Series 5 boxes, branded Roamio. Base model is $200 and is a 4-tuner. The Plus/Pro models are $400/600 and come with 6-tuners (who the eff needs that many tuner?!), more storage, plus built in streaming to iOS devices and MoCA (I might need someone like ahow to give me a crash course on MoCA).

I'm really considering ordering one of these today. Storage is never a problem for us, so I need to decide if we'll actually use/need streaming and MoCA capabilities.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2013, 10:32 AM
mlschop's Avatar
mlschop mlschop is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36,419
Default

Ordered the "Plus" model. I think we'll use streaming to iOS devices.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2013, 11:01 AM
dumples dumples is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,249
Default

MoCA is simple, but nice.

If you want to set up a second tivo, say a mini, the mini can get data from the main tivo without using ethernet (if you aren't wired or don't want powerline) or wireless(which is unreliable). It took a few tries to get it to connect, but I think that it's fine now that it is working.

As for 6 tuners, it might not be too much in a whole home set up. The mini's each use a dedicated tuner for streaming and any recording is done on other tuners. 4 tuners works well enough with one mini, but if there was even one other clients, it probably wouldn't be enough.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2013, 01:26 PM
Dr T Non-Fan Dr T Non-Fan is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Just outside of Nowhere
Posts: 93,537
Default

OK, one question: where do you put six tuners??
I mean, who is your content provider that gives you six tuners?

Does your TiVo replace the tuner? That would be sweet, instead of relying on the TiVo to change the channel of the tuner. We had a TiVo hooked up to a Time/Warner box, and it didn't do that great of a job of changing the channels (I suspect T/W was the cause).

We have two DVRs (one for each TV) from FIOS, and they're connected somehow, so we can watch shows from either DVR on either TV.

Still, I'd love to go back to TiVo, as long as I could pay for service one time for life instead of monthly.
__________________
"Facebook is a toilet." -- LWTwJO
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-20-2013, 01:37 PM
nonlnear nonlnear is offline
Member
Non-Actuary
 
Join Date: May 2010
Favorite beer: Civil Society Fresh IPA
Posts: 30,074
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr T Non-Fan View Post
Still, I'd love to go back to TiVo, as long as I could pay for service one time for life instead of monthly.
They have lifetime service available.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-20-2013, 01:54 PM
mlschop's Avatar
mlschop mlschop is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36,419
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr T Non-Fan View Post
OK, one question: where do you put six tuners??
I mean, who is your content provider that gives you six tuners?

Does your TiVo replace the tuner? That would be sweet, instead of relying on the TiVo to change the channel of the tuner. We had a TiVo hooked up to a Time/Warner box, and it didn't do that great of a job of changing the channels (I suspect T/W was the cause).

We have two DVRs (one for each TV) from FIOS, and they're connected somehow, so we can watch shows from either DVR on either TV.

Still, I'd love to go back to TiVo, as long as I could pay for service one time for life instead of monthly.
I'm not sure if you're missing something or if I'm not understanding your question.

Cable companies have been providing M-Cards (multi-stream cablecards) for over 5 years now. M-Cards can decode up to 6 channels simultaneously. However, cable boxes must be programmed to handle multiple tuners. Cable and Sat providers have only recently (last 2 years or so) starting pushing boxes with more than 2 tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-20-2013, 01:55 PM
dumples dumples is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,249
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr T Non-Fan View Post
Does your TiVo replace the tuner?
This.

I have RCN, they provide me with a tivo branded box. Before this was available, I had to rent a cable card from them to install in a tivo box that I provided.

http://dvr.about.com/od/tivo/a/Does-...Offer-Tivo.htm
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-20-2013, 01:55 PM
Dr T Non-Fan Dr T Non-Fan is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Just outside of Nowhere
Posts: 93,537
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nonlnear View Post
They have lifetime service available.
My issue is that they don't work well with cable/fiber-optic companies' machines. And I need the company box for HBO.
So, is there a way to bypass the company box yet? I heard about some chip that can be inserted into a TiVo box, but the companies don't want to give up that sweet box and DVR rental money.


ETA: Ah, the "cable card." I'll see if FIOS has that option.
__________________
"Facebook is a toilet." -- LWTwJO

Last edited by Dr T Non-Fan; 08-20-2013 at 02:00 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-20-2013, 01:57 PM
mlschop's Avatar
mlschop mlschop is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36,419
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nonlnear View Post
They have lifetime service available.
Yup. Lifetime membership is $499; which seems like a lot to plunk down upfront, but it's roughly 2 years and 9 months of monthly payments. Since I've had my last TiVo for 5 years, clearly the lifetime membership was worth it.

Even sweeter is they are offering current TiVo customers $100 off lifetime service (dunno if this is a regular discount or a special due to the new boxes).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-20-2013, 01:59 PM
mlschop's Avatar
mlschop mlschop is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36,419
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr T Non-Fan View Post
My issue is that they don't work well with cable/fiber-optic companies' machines. And I need the company box for HBO.
So, is there a way to bypass the company box yet? I heard about some chip that can be inserted into a TiVo box, but the companies don't want to give up that sweet box and DVR rental money.
Why do you need a company box for HBO? I get HBO and Showtime.

Is this "chip" you are referring to a CableCARD?

Were you like a Series 1 TiVO owner and haven't used them since? It sounds like a lot of your info is outdated (or your local cable provider is looney tunes).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.53705 seconds with 11 queries