Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Browse Open Actuarial Jobs

Life  Health  Casualty  Pension  Entry Level  All Jobs  Salaries

Old 01-09-2017, 06:21 PM
CAS SOA

Default How important is non-relevant work experience for EL and internships?

This is the one area that seems to be the weakest for me right now, and the fact that I want to graduate in 3 years (or 3.5 if I can't get an internship summer after sophomore year) makes it even more imperative that I get some. Otherwise, although I'm a freshman right now, according to my semester standing based on the number of credits I have, I'm the equivalent of a first-semester sophomore at this point and have 1/P passed. I'm planning on taking 2/FM, 3F/MFE, and 4/C between now and coming fall (ideally). I'm in a couple clubs and I'm planning on joining the actuarial fraternity as well as toastmasters (starting this coming summer when I can have my car on campus since there's none nearby).

However, irrelevant work experience seems to be a problem. And I guess I just feel insecure about my prospects because I was looking at a lot of the resume critique requests in the sub-forum, and everyone seems to have a few different internships at other places or jobs that weren't bottom-of-the-barrel, a lot of them during the year. At this point, all I have is being a counselor-in-training summer of 2015 at an elementary school for a strings music camp. I'm planning on picking up some near-minimum-wage job like one in the dining hall or something (even though it's really not a necessity for me to pay bills or anything), but I'm just looking for some advice in general about what I should do over the next 2.5 years to be competitive in terms of non-actuarial work experience.