Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51  
Old 06-07-2014, 09:09 PM
Descalzo's Avatar
Descalzo Descalzo is online now
Member
Non-Actuary
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: St. George, Utah
Posts: 12,244
Default

My problem was that you had to hold down Ctrl or something when you booted. Then they just clicked Chrome anyways.
__________________
¡Biba México!
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 06-09-2014, 02:30 PM
secondlife secondlife is offline
Member
Non-Actuary
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6,388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pseudolus View Post
If I have a winders machine running on my home network hosting audio/video/picture files, can a Chromebook on the same network access those files?
By accessing files you mean, viewing/listening?

If you run a media server on your windows machine, you can play those files on your chrome book. For example plex media server on your wndows machine and then plex web on your chromebook. I don't have a chromebook, but I can view/listen to my files in the computer using my android phone.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 06-10-2014, 02:21 PM
yoyo's Avatar
yoyo yoyo is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 20,962
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo View Post
I bought one. I'll probably dual boot it with a Linux distro.
wow, this one is about a jillion times better than the samsung one i used to have. faster, intel inside, bigger screen, smoother screen function, etc. of course, it's heavier too.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 06-10-2014, 03:27 PM
Pseudolus's Avatar
Pseudolus Pseudolus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kooey Kooey Kooey
Favorite beer: Four Loko
Posts: 64,041
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo View Post
wow, this one is about a jillion times better than the samsung one i used to have. faster, intel inside, bigger screen, smoother screen function, etc. of course, it's heavier too.
Good to hear. Mine should be arriving tomorrow.
Quote:
Originally Posted by secondlife View Post
By accessing files you mean, viewing/listening?

If you run a media server on your windows machine, you can play those files on your chrome book. For example plex media server on your wndows machine and then plex web on your chromebook. I don't have a chromebook, but I can view/listen to my files in the computer using my android phone.
Was hoping to have it be more of a plain-vanilla shared-folder-in-a-file-browser dealio. For instance, my server is in the basement. Currently, when I want to, say, load a new audiobook onto my android device, I fire up WiFi File Transfer on my phone, go to my upstairs Winders lappy, and use that lappy to transfer files from a network drive (physically a floor away) onto my phone. It seems like a Chromebook wouldn't be able to serve as an intermediary this way.

Or, I put my phone's memory card in the lappy, use that to transfer those files to my photo storage, also in the basement.

I realize that many similar things can be done using the Google cloud as my "server", but I don't always want to do that. I expect the Chromebook will be worth the tradeoffs, but tradeoffs are tradeoffs.
__________________
Eunt anni more fluentis aquae
Nec quae praeteriit, iterum revocabitur unda

Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 06-10-2014, 05:57 PM
ahow's Avatar
ahow ahow is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Burninating the Indiana
Favorite beer: Stone 11th Anniversary Ale
Posts: 12,252
Default

Look into using Chrome Remote Desktop, maybe?
__________________
ahow
Badass
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 06-10-2014, 06:27 PM
secondlife secondlife is offline
Member
Non-Actuary
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6,388
Default

+ and there are many ftp clients for android devices, so take the laptop out of the loop?

You must really enjoy your setup.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 06-11-2014, 01:32 PM
Pseudolus's Avatar
Pseudolus Pseudolus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kooey Kooey Kooey
Favorite beer: Four Loko
Posts: 64,041
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ahow View Post
Look into using Chrome Remote Desktop, maybe?
Will check it out, thanks.

So the thing arrived today. Much snappier than my aging Asus. And feels more solid than some of the more toy-like chromebooks I've poked at at Bestbuy.

One thing I haven't figured out how to do very well is to select text. I'm used to doing a double-tap-hold-drag on the touchpad. That doesn't work. In a text-entry box (like the one I'm typing in now) I can use shift and arrow keys to select. But how do I accomplish this on, say, a regular web page?

EDIT: Figured it out. Hadn't realized that the whole touchpad "clicks". Clicking down on the pad and holding it allows text to be selected.

EDIT2: Another method is to tap a spot to invisibly mark the beginning of a selection, and then to shift-tap to mark the end.
__________________
Eunt anni more fluentis aquae
Nec quae praeteriit, iterum revocabitur unda


Last edited by Pseudolus; 06-11-2014 at 01:48 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 06-11-2014, 02:08 PM
ahow's Avatar
ahow ahow is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Burninating the Indiana
Favorite beer: Stone 11th Anniversary Ale
Posts: 12,252
Default

Hadn't ever heard of edit 2 version. I'll keep that in mind.
__________________
ahow
Badass
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 06-11-2014, 05:27 PM
Pseudolus's Avatar
Pseudolus Pseudolus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kooey Kooey Kooey
Favorite beer: Four Loko
Posts: 64,041
Default

Here's another Chrome UI question: How do I grab-n-drag an object, e.g. in Maps or in an image editor or repositioning objects in a Docs, um, doc?

EDIT: Seems to be the same answer as last question () - physically click and hold the touchpad and then pan around.
__________________
Eunt anni more fluentis aquae
Nec quae praeteriit, iterum revocabitur unda


Last edited by Pseudolus; 06-11-2014 at 05:32 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 06-15-2014, 11:46 PM
Pseudolus's Avatar
Pseudolus Pseudolus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kooey Kooey Kooey
Favorite beer: Four Loko
Posts: 64,041
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ahow View Post
Look into using Chrome Remote Desktop, maybe?
^ This is very, very useful. Looks like the perfect solution to managing my server setup without having to drag my lazy a$$ all the way down to the basement. Thanks!
__________________
Eunt anni more fluentis aquae
Nec quae praeteriit, iterum revocabitur unda

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.32997 seconds with 9 queries