Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Old 12-04-2017, 02:10 PM
CAS

Default Seeking code review in R (Q of anonymity)

Hi. I am fairly new to the outpost and just learning my way around here. I had posted under P&C a request for code review. One person agreed but was unable to place a blocked ID phone call to me, no reason given. I am not sure I understand all of the reasons for anonymity on the outpost, but I have seen there are job postings here, so I understand that much. Since my name is posted, I thought that if anyone would agree to review the code, perhaps you could look me up in the directory and contact me by email without revealing your outpost identity? This review should be fine for credit, if anyone is seeking CE credit, so I would think it could be viewed sporadically at work. If that approach won't work I would not mind discussion as to why it won't. I did receive a suggestion to include more than one set of code, given that the R base code can be easier to understand and modify; and a second set given that some packages run faster. The code is for accessing daily weather data files and the example in the paper is the El Nino Southern Oscillation (ENSO) phenomenon.
Old 12-04-2017, 04:59 PM
CAS

If you share your code it'd encourage people to look at it and even contribute fixes/enhancements if they're feeling generous. Here's a good source for how you could do that properly: http://happygitwithr.com/
Old 12-05-2017, 12:16 AM
Non-Actuary

Quote:
Originally Posted by GwenAnderson View Post