Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Cyberchat > Diversions > That card g@me that starts with P
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

DW Simpson Global Actuarial & Analytics Recruitment
Download our Actuarial Salary Survey
now with state-by-state salary information!

Old 04-16-2019, 09:55 AM
SOA AAA

Studying for Japanese
College: B.S. Applied Math
Favorite beer: La Croix Grapefruit
Default Audiobooks

Any suggestions on these? Very easily consumable format for me. I'm listening to Annie Duke's book now and it's REALLY GOOD (for what little I know). Like, I went from complete newb to kinda know what I'm doing ish.

Still not confident enough to go play a 1/2 game but I probably should be.
Old 04-16-2019, 12:19 PM
SOA AAA

I normally use my eyes when reading.

Are you trying to learn, or do you just want to know how the best got to be the best? Because they mostly can't teach you anything, because they often have what cannot be taught (it's intuition, mainly).

For a 1/2 game, you don't need a lot of expertise. Know your ABCs, know your position, try to know your opponents, know your stack and their stacks, know the odds. Bring what you can comfortably lose.

Go to the Wisconsin one, not the Indiana one. That's what some guys at my table told me the other day (one was moving to Chicago, another happened to be from Chicago).

"45 es un titere" -- Seal of The President of The United States of America protest art
Old 04-16-2019, 12:20 PM
SOA AAA

I'm currently reading "Your Worst Poker Enemy" by some psychologist.

"45 es un titere" -- Seal of The President of The United States of America protest art
Old 04-16-2019, 12:39 PM
CAS

Quote:
Originally Posted by mathmajor View Post
Any suggestions on these? Very easily consumable format for me. I'm listening to Annie Duke's book now and it's REALLY GOOD (for what little I know). Like, I went from complete newb to kinda know what I'm doing ish.