Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > General Actuarial
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Upload your resume securely at https://www.dwsimpson.com
to be contacted when our jobs meet your skills and objectives.

General Actuarial Non-Specific Actuarial Topics - Before posting a thread, please browse over our other sections to see if there is a better fit, such as Careers - Employment, Actuarial Science Universities Forum or any of our other 100+ forums.

Old 12-04-2019, 12:29 PM
CAS

Default A New Perspective on Actuarial Science

Hi everyone,

I've been working in P&C for a few years. While taking exams, I noticed that unlike life insurance, there is no standardized mathematical notation; for example, there is no equivalent of tpx. This makes a lot of the material very wordy and imprecise. Because of this, I've made it my goal to create a notation system and use it to write a textbook.

I've finished a draft of the first part of the book, which mathematically explains the need for insurance.

It can be found here: An Introduction to Actuarial Science

I'm not sure what to do with it at this point, but I'm ready to share it, and I'm interested in any feedback that anyone can provide.

Thanks,

Andrew
Old 12-04-2019, 01:02 PM
Non-Actuary

I think I saw something similar on Reddit, and agree with the top comment there that posted a link to the XKCD below.

https://xkcd.com/927/