Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

ACTUARIAL SALARY SURVEYS
Contact DW Simpson for a Personalized Salary Survey

Old 01-03-2020, 02:04 PM
CAS SOA Non-Actuary

College: Southern Connecticut State University Undergrad
Default What to put in my toolbox?

Hello new e-friends,

First I wanna say that you guys have put together a very nice anthology of information on this site and I've found a lot of helpful stuff already. Special thanks to Westley for the stickies. But I still have some questions and obv crave personal attention so I figured a new thread was appropriate . Apologies for the tl;dr.

I'm a newborn baby on the actuarial path (not young tho- I'm 32). Most of the info I've found on here starts with "How do I write a resume/land my first internship/job". I'm not even at that stage yet. I'm in my 2nd semester back in college, about to take things like calc 1 and intro to programming. The main thing I would like to ask is basically- What should I be doing right now with my time to become the most valuable and profitable person i can in a couple years and for the future?

Right now I have the dustiest resume possible. Any employer would 100% assume I have been on the couch eating potato chips for 10 years. Now I admit that is actually pretty true, I do enjoy a good potato chip. I guess what separates me from the average memed about 'neckbeard' is that I have financially supported myself as a self employed professional gambler my whole life until moving back with my folks a year ago to cut down on costs while I go back to school. So this leaves me in an unenviable spot wrt gaining employment and climbing corporate ladder.

So to break down my question into specific parts-