Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2019, 05:04 PM
BruteForce's Avatar
BruteForce BruteForce is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Studying for More Money
Favorite beer: Wurzel Bier
Posts: 11,454
Default Cable Modem and Router?

I'm going to be switching over to Cable internet (CableOne). They offer faster speeds than my current provider, and lately we've been experiencing lots of lag. We're currently on a 40 Mbps plan, and CableOne's lowest plan is 100 Mbps. That's what I'm planning on going with, but I'd like to get equipment that can go up to 300 Mbps just for the future.

However, I'm on a budget. I told my wife I could buy the equipment for $150 or less. Any suggestions on Modems and wireless routers? Does it even matter as long as the specs say they can get up to the speeds I want?

FWIW, here's a list of CableOne compatible modems (pretty much any DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem): https://support.cableone.net/hc/en-u...sidential-Only

Any suggestions?
__________________
ASA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Actuary321 View Post
I would really hate to bring Pokémon to a gun fight.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2019, 05:09 PM
BruteForce's Avatar
BruteForce BruteForce is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Studying for More Money
Favorite beer: Wurzel Bier
Posts: 11,454
Default

I'm currently thinking of something like this ($130): https://www.amazon.com/MOTOROLA-MG75.../dp/B01MSTB5KW

Or a separate modem and router: ($60) https://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-CM500.../dp/B06XH46MWW and ($90) https://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-R6700...dp/B00R2AZLD2/

I honestly am having a hard time understanding the difference between the two options.
__________________
ASA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Actuary321 View Post
I would really hate to bring Pokémon to a gun fight.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2019, 05:10 PM
Patience's Avatar
Patience Patience is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: a kinder, gentler place
Favorite beer: Scotch
Posts: 49,015
Default

I moved homes recently, the new cable boxes I got have the modem & router built in. I upgraded to 200 at the old house, so didn't change it back to 100, but so much better connection. They supplied the modem previously, I had purchased the router.

Check with the cable company before purchasing anything - my system is called Altice One
__________________
"I've been through the desert on a horse with no name...
In the desert you can remember your name
'Cause there ain't no one for to give you no pain"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2019, 10:33 PM
Underpaid Underpaid is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 798
Default

Renting the equipment isn't a bad idea. When you have an issue, the tech support knows exactly how to help. I recommend getting familiar with and purchasing your own personal router, though. When you buy the router, you always get to customize the security and other features. The routers provided by cable companies often do not have all of the features available. Also, be aware that your internet service rate is probably "introductory" and you will be charged a higher rate one year from now.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2019, 10:39 PM
Maphisto's Sidekick's Avatar
Maphisto's Sidekick Maphisto's Sidekick is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Park Genetics Lab
College: Ardnox
Favorite beer: The kind with alcohol
Posts: 2,993
Default

I recently got the Motorola modem+router for my father's apartment. Works fine, although it's not Docsis 3.1, and therefore may not be able to support the highest speed connections (which may not yet be available in your area).

Normally I prefer having my router and my modem be separate gadgets. Some of that is just because that's what I'm used to, but I also suspect that some (but not all) standalone routers have better antenna arrays than what can be crammed into an all-in-one gadget. And, if you are trying to cover a house, especially one with RF-opaque materials inside...antennas make a difference (and invite questions about extenders)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-2019, 09:52 AM
Arroway's Avatar
Arroway Arroway is offline
Member
CAS SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: In a house
Studying for Done, bois!
College: UConn
Favorite beer: Barq's or Mug, or any local Root Beer with caffeine
Posts: 1,033
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maphisto's Sidekick View Post

(and invite questions about extenders)
We have three eero units (one on each floor) and have been very happy with them. We have cat5 (not 5e or 6 ) running through the house, so every eero is hardwired into the network, which seems to make a big difference.
__________________
Arroway, Injustice 2 Raid Leader

All opinions are either my own, or made up for dramatic and/or comedic effect.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-09-2019, 02:21 PM
BruteForce's Avatar
BruteForce BruteForce is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Studying for More Money
Favorite beer: Wurzel Bier
Posts: 11,454
Default

Thanks for the comments everyone. I talked to a techy friend I have, and got his input as well. I decided to go a little crazy and double my budget. I got Google WiFi nodes, and a (hopefully) nice modem. Both of these should be able to take higher than the internet plan I'm going to get initially, so that if I upgrade in the future I won't have to buy new equipment. We'll see how it works.
__________________
ASA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Actuary321 View Post
I would really hate to bring Pokémon to a gun fight.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-11-2019, 10:09 AM
act_123 act_123 is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,793
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BruteForce View Post
Thanks for the comments everyone. I talked to a techy friend I have, and got his input as well. I decided to go a little crazy and double my budget. I got Google WiFi nodes, and a (hopefully) nice modem. Both of these should be able to take higher than the internet plan I'm going to get initially, so that if I upgrade in the future I won't have to buy new equipment. We'll see how it works.
I would make sure your modem is compatible with your internet. I bought a modem when I was on Time Warner. Then I moved and the modem wasn't compatible with Optimum.
__________________
ACAS 7 8 9
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-11-2019, 10:35 AM
BruteForce's Avatar
BruteForce BruteForce is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Studying for More Money
Favorite beer: Wurzel Bier
Posts: 11,454
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by act_123 View Post
I would make sure your modem is compatible with your internet. I bought a modem when I was on Time Warner. Then I moved and the modem wasn't compatible with Optimum.
I made sure to buy one that was on the list of supported modems. I also made sure I'd be able to return it if it didn't work for some reason.
__________________
ASA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Actuary321 View Post
I would really hate to bring Pokémon to a gun fight.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-11-2019, 11:18 AM
Turd Ferguson's Avatar
Turd Ferguson Turd Ferguson is offline
It's a funny name.
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,473
Default

(if this is a thread derailment, let me know and I'll start a new one)

Does anybody have any experience with a mesh wifi network? if so, which brand of routers work better than others?

I definitely suffer from signal loss in my house. the modem is in the basement, and I routinely have wifi connectivity issues in my 2nd floor bedroom, despite having an extender on the 2nd floor. Trying to decide if I need to find a way to rewire stuff and get the modem to the main floor, or if spending a couple hundred bucks on a mesh network solves my problems without pulling any wires. Essentially, I'm getting sick of paying for 150Mbps and having to wait while YouTube buffers.
__________________
Suck it, Trebek
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.25965 seconds with 9 queries