Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Exams - Please Limit Discussion to Exam-Related Topics > SoA/CAS Preliminary Exams > Probability
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

ACTUARIAL SALARY SURVEYS
Contact DW Simpson for a Personalized Salary Survey

Probability Old Exam P Forum

Old 04-06-2015, 06:29 PM
SOA

Studying for Exam 3F/MFE
Default Are all the exams just memorization-based?

I've heard that the actuarial exams are hard as hell, but it just seems to be testing memory instead of mathematical ability, at least for exam P.

I studied for exam P using Finan's free probability pdf. I haven't taken a probability course in college, but I breezed through Finan's pdf in 4 days.

I then slacked off until a day before the exam and did one practice test.

I passed with a 7 on the real test. I thought the test was pretty difficult, since all the questions I got were completely different to the questions on the 1 practice test I took. I said, "Gee, if I'm struggling now, I guess I might not make it to the end."

Then my friend, who also took exam P on January, told me how easy the exam was, which was surprising considering how I owned him in all the upper-level math classes we took together. I know he isn't as mathematically capable as I am, so I just assumed he overestimated how well he did.
But then he got his results. He got a 9. A freaking 9. I asked him how he did so well on the test, and he said he just solved a crapton of problems before the test and when the real test came, all the problems were the same.

He let me borrow a $200 manual that he bought and I took a look at the practice exams. I couldn't believe how similar they were to the questions on my real test. Aside from the wording and a few number changes, they were exactly the same.