Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Exams - Please Limit Discussion to Exam-Related Topics > SoA/CAS Preliminary Exams > Probability
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Search Actuarial Jobs by State @ DWSimpson.com:
AL AK AR AZ CA CO CT DE FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA
ME MD MA MI MN MS MO MT NE NH NJ NM NY NV NC ND
OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY

Probability Old Exam P Forum

Old 02-12-2019, 09:08 PM
SOA

College: San Diego State University
Default My exam P experience

During the time I was studying for exam P, I tried to find as many threads as I could written by someone who had recently taken the exam. I'll give some brief details of my experience and study materials and what I thought of the exam in case someone out there finds it helpful.

My background is as an econ major so I wasn't as comfortable as most of you guys with the calculus topics. I had to do a lot of review problems and I even did about 8 to 10 hours with a paid tutor to brush up on this (it was well worth it).

I tracked my study time with an app called atimelogger, which was free. I tracked about 280 hours over the course of 8 months (I was working full time as well so it took me a while to log enough hours). I'm sure the true number is closer to 300 as I probably forgot to log some time.

I did maybe 4 of the practice exams in actex. I did some of the practice problems in asm, but I found that manual pretty inaccessible for someone with my background. I spent the vast majority of my study hours doing adapt quizzes and exams. Every weekend I would spend 3 hours each Saturday and Sunday doing exams under full exam conditions (no stopping the clock for restroom,etc.). The first few practice exams were very discouraging as I failed even some level 1 and 2 exams. I kept reviewing the ones I got wrong and after taking nearly 20 full length practice exams I got to an earned level of 7.3.