Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Cyberchat > Surveys
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Old 12-15-2003, 04:19 PM

Default tips for doorman and building peeps

so.i get a christmas card over the weekend from my apt building stafff....i have 4 doorman, 2 porters, a super and handy man. i live in ny on the upper east side..its my first year living in nyc...what is a fair amount to give these guys...do you give the same amt to all...how do you actually give it..track down each one of these guys? give one envelope to the main doorman and have him disburse it.?..any insights you guys have would be appreciated...thanks
Old 12-15-2003, 04:59 PM

Default Re: tips for doorman and building peeps

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr. eigen vector
so.i get a christmas card over the weekend from my apt building stafff....i have 4 doorman, 2 porters, a super and handy man. i live in ny on the upper east side..its my first year living in nyc...what is a fair amount to give these guys...do you give the same amt to all...how do you actually give it..track down each one of these guys? give one envelope to the main doorman and have him disburse it.?..any insights you guys have would be appreciated...thanks
It depends on the building, how the management or people do it usually. In my building we have a holiday gift box. My ex-boyfriend's fancy Lincoln Center building didn't do that so he gives each one at a time and plan it out so he won't mix up who and how much. In terms of how much it's really up to you. I need like $2000 to pay for my books and fees for the exams next year before my company reimburses, just a hint.

Hope that helps.
Old 12-15-2003, 05:13 PM

If I'm going to peep, I'd rather peep on the receptionist, not the doorman.
Old 12-15-2003, 05:13 PM

Whew! Did that typo escape safely?
Old 12-15-2003, 05:16 PM
Site Supporter
Site Supporter