Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Finance - Investments
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Finance - Investments Sub-forum: Non-Actuarial Personal Finance/Investing

Old 04-28-2006, 11:42 AM

Default Wisdom of 401k Contribution Maximization

I am not a financial newbie, but I recognize that there are people here who have even better financial backgrounds than my own.

I can see contributing to the point of maximizing your employer's match. Beyond that is a different story. I could be paying a 25% marginal federal tax on those dollars now. What if my marginal rate is 50% when I retire? Will the tax deferral of earnings for the next 30 years overcome a drastically more progressive tax structure (DMPTS)? A DMPTS that will be necessitated by the trainwreck that is social security.
Old 04-28-2006, 11:46 AM

Studying for Life
Favorite beer: Free Beer

You'll be defering that tax until you retire (45-0 years). You can figure out the time value of that deferral. I contribute 14K to my 401k but I also contribute about 2K to my Roth for tax diversification.
Grand Funk Railroad paved the way for Jefferson Airplane, which cleared the way for Jefferson Starship. The stage was now set for the Alan Parsons Project, which I believe was some sort of hovercraft. For more information on Grand Funk consult your local library.
Old 04-28-2006, 11:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack
You can figure out the time value of that deferral.

In order to make this calculation, I need to make assumptions about 1) when I'll retire 2) rate of return over the next 25 years both nominal and real 3) tax structure I'll face in when I retire 4) portion of total rate of return I can defer via capital gains on post tax investments

number 3 concerns me the most.
Old 05-01-2006, 03:12 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeepPurple