Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Search Actuarial Jobs by State @ DWSimpson.com:
AL AK AR AZ CA CO CT DE FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA
ME MD MA MI MN MS MO MT NE NH NJ NM NY NV NC ND
OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY

Old 10-02-2010, 09:46 AM

Default Actuarial vs Statistics

Hello. I am a recent college grad with a background in Econ and Math. I was attracted to the actuarial route because it is a career that uses my background and interest in math and statistics in an applied, practical context. I have passed the first few actuarial exams (P, FM, MFE) and am looking at entry level positions.

Lately, I have been considering whether actuarial is the right route for me or whether pursuing a graduate degree in statistics would make more sense. I know that my passion is working with statistical modeling. I really enjoy working with data, running regressions, interpreting results, playing with the parameters of models, etc. I have a background in SAS and a little bit in R. I really enjoy using these types of programs and am interested in learning how to use them better. I feel that I am flexible in which specific area I would like to apply my statistical abilities to. But I know that I am interested in applied statistics, not theoretical.

I am attracted to the actuarial route because I think that it could be a career where I would use the statistical modeling I love in an applied context. Lately, I have been concerned that in a number of actuarial routes, the models are already built, and there is not much opportunity to play and work with specifying these models. My concern is that the focus of the job may not be on the statistical expertise, but maybe this concern is unfounded.