Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Not looking for a job? Tell us about your ideal job,
and we'll only contact you when it opens up.
https://www.dwsimpson.com/register

Old 06-16-2018, 05:54 PM
CAS Non-Actuary

Default How do people get promoted at very large companies?

I have about 2 years experience and will start a new job at one of the largest reinsurers (MunichRe/Swiss Re etc). My background is coming from a team of 3 actuaries, and everyone around me moved up to manager level roles by volatility in the company as the company had very high turnover.

Stalking some of my future colleagues on LinkedIn it seems as though everyone in the company has been there for 5-10+ years. I'll be joining as the person with lowest level of experience. In one way it's good, as I'll be able to learn a lot from others and it's one of the biggest reasons I left the small shop, however long-term I'm not sure how I would get promoted - surely when a position opens up I won't even be considered as there will always be someone with more experience than me. How do people move up?

Sorry if it's a fairly naive question - it's probably too early in my career to be thinking of stuff like this, but thought I'd ask!
Old 06-16-2018, 06:04 PM
CAS

College: Jamba Juice University
Favorite beer: AO Amber Ale

depends on the company

You should probably ask your chief actuary or another senior person how it gets done.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wigmeister General View Post
Don't you even think about sending me your resume. I'll turn it into an origami boulder and return it to you.
Old 06-16-2018, 06:37 PM
CAS