Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > General Actuarial
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Actuarial Jobs by State

New York  New Jersey  Connecticut  Massachusetts 
California  Florida  Texas  Illinois  Colorado

General Actuarial Non-Specific Actuarial Topics - Before posting a thread, please browse over our other sections to see if there is a better fit, such as Careers - Employment, Actuarial Science Universities Forum or any of our other 100+ forums.

Old 10-18-2005, 03:45 AM

Default What Makes the Actuary Tests Hard?

Hello I'm a sophomore at college pursuing a General Curriculum degree. Recently I've been interested in pursuing an Actuary Science degree. Two concerns are:

What makes the Actuary tests hard?
(Do these tests require heavily on intelligence or can an average-intelligent person pass these tests with hard work?)

Do you enjoy working as an Actuary?
(Job Satisfaction)

Thank you for reading my post.

- MrWoot
Old 10-18-2005, 03:49 AM
CAS SOA COPA

Favorite beer: Westmalle Tripel

You might consider looking at prior exams at www.soa.org. The answers to the problems are difficult to get, but you could probably pass these tests with below average intelligence if it's your lucky day since the first 4 exams are multiple choice.

Oh yeah, and you're welcome.
Old 10-18-2005, 03:59 AM
SOA AAA

Studying for beer
Favorite beer: Fresh Squeezed IPA

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrWoot
Hello I'm a sophomore at college pursuing a General Curriculum degree. Recently I've been interested in pursuing an Actuary Science degree. Two concerns are:

(Do these tests require heavily on intelligence or can an average-intelligent person pass these tests with hard work?)

Do you enjoy working as an Actuary?
(Job Satisfaction)

Thank you for reading my post.

- MrWoot