Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Cyberchat > Diversions > That card g@me that starts with P
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

DW Simpson
Actuarial Jobs

Visit our site for the most up to date jobs for actuaries.

Actuarial Salary Surveys
Property & Casualty, Health, Life, Pension and Non-Tradtional Jobs.

Actuarial Meeting Schedule
Browse this year's meetings and which recruiters will attend.

Contact DW Simpson
Have a question?
Let's talk.
You'll be glad you did.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 04-22-2019, 04:43 PM
cranialfury13's Avatar
cranialfury13 cranialfury13 is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Madison, WI
College: UC Santa Barbara
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cohete009 View Post
Hero tanks and folds Qd 9d
Oh man, sick fold! Don't think I can make it, I'd drive myself nuts wondering whether I folded to a smaller flush. The stack depth is right in that "no clear best option" range, maximum torture.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 06-15-2019, 09:31 PM
Bicycle Repair Man's Avatar
Bicycle Repair Man Bicycle Repair Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 14,352
Default

Third level of a Foxwoods $300 tournament. No reads yet on villain. He recently won a big pot where he and someone else both turned trips but he had the A kicker.

Blinds 100/200 200 BB ante. Effective stack 30,000.

Villain opens from UTG+1 to 800. Everyone folds to me in the SB with two black aces. I raise to 2200. Villain calls. To the flop.

Q66 two spades. I bet 3000. Villain raises to 8000. Hero?
__________________
Farewell, Necco Wafers. At least you died the way you lived: tossed away after someone realized they accidentally bought Necco Wafers. - Cedric Voets, Cracked.com
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 06-16-2019, 01:24 PM
mathmajor's Avatar
mathmajor mathmajor is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nowhere in particular
Studying for Japanese
College: B.S. Applied Math
Favorite beer: La Croix Grapefruit
Posts: 12,100
Default

I think I know exactly what he has.

Calling QQ OOP seems like a poor idea. He's ahead of AK, loses to AA/KK, just shove. Don't let AK see a flop. Don't make life difficult. He shouldn't have that. If he did and pulled a third queen then idiocy pays sometimes.

He can't have AQ spades. Worst, WORST case for you is KQ spades draw. Otherwise I think he is AQo or KQ on 2 pair/kicker. A6s seems like a bad call oop (or in?). If so, a miracle flop.

You dominate the runner flush outcome and can pull the full house so +EV for you is for all his chips to get in now. More cautious is to call, see what comes down, let him fire again. If it's a spade you can tread more lightly and keep the pot down. If you go over the top now. I think KQ and AQ will fold and it'll make AA/KK/AQ more obvious. It marks you with the spade ace somewhat.

I would call and let him fire again.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by redprinceton
YOU ARE AN EXCEPTIONAL PERSON MATHMAJOR!
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 06-16-2019, 01:24 PM
mathmajor's Avatar
mathmajor mathmajor is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nowhere in particular
Studying for Japanese
College: B.S. Applied Math
Favorite beer: La Croix Grapefruit
Posts: 12,100
Default

I'm a newb and been playing like 2 weeks tho
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by redprinceton
YOU ARE AN EXCEPTIONAL PERSON MATHMAJOR!
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 06-16-2019, 04:15 PM
Bicycle Repair Man's Avatar
Bicycle Repair Man Bicycle Repair Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 14,352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mathmajor View Post
I think I know exactly what he has.

Calling QQ OOP seems like a poor idea. He's ahead of AK, loses to AA/KK, just shove. Don't let AK see a flop. Don't make life difficult. He shouldn't have that. If he did and pulled a third queen then idiocy pays sometimes.

He can't have AQ spades. Worst, WORST case for you is KQ spades draw. Otherwise I think he is AQo or KQ on 2 pair/kicker. A6s seems like a bad call oop (or in?). If so, a miracle flop.

You dominate the runner flush outcome and can pull the full house so +EV for you is for all his chips to get in now. More cautious is to call, see what comes down, let him fire again. If it's a spade you can tread more lightly and keep the pot down. If you go over the top now. I think KQ and AQ will fold and it'll make AA/KK/AQ more obvious. It marks you with the spade ace somewhat.

I would call and let him fire again.
Queen of spades is on the board. I have ace of spades. There aren't a lot of flush draws left for him to have.
__________________
Farewell, Necco Wafers. At least you died the way you lived: tossed away after someone realized they accidentally bought Necco Wafers. - Cedric Voets, Cracked.com
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 06-17-2019, 09:38 AM
ItsATrap's Avatar
ItsATrap ItsATrap is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Favorite beer: Sam Adams Summer Seasonal
Posts: 802
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bicycle Repair Man View Post
Third level of a Foxwoods $300 tournament. No reads yet on villain. He recently won a big pot where he and someone else both turned trips but he had the A kicker.

Blinds 100/200 200 BB ante. Effective stack 30,000.

Villain opens from UTG+1 to 800. Everyone folds to me in the SB with two black aces. I raise to 2200. Villain calls. To the flop.

Q66 two spades. I bet 3000. Villain raises to 8000. Hero?
Did he raise UTG+1 with a 6? Highly unlikely. Did he do so with QQ? Possibly, but without any sort of additional information, it's very difficult to conclude that's what he has. Those are the only 2 hands that beat you at this point. In most instances here, he has like AQs. In most hands, that's what he has, but as this is you polling the audience, I'm sure you're going to tell us he flipped over Queens full when you jammed. I'm also suspecting maybe he had A6s, just because you had given us the info about him winning a previous pot with trips with the A kicker.... curious if he's a n00b who will play any ace.
__________________
"Admiral Ackbar Cereal: Your tongues can't repel flavor of that magnitude!"
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 06-17-2019, 09:48 AM
Cohete009's Avatar
Cohete009 Cohete009 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cohete's World
Favorite beer: Ummmmm....Beer
Posts: 12,975
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bicycle Repair Man View Post
Third level of a Foxwoods $300 tournament. No reads yet on villain. He recently won a big pot where he and someone else both turned trips but he had the A kicker.

Blinds 100/200 200 BB ante. Effective stack 30,000.

Villain opens from UTG+1 to 800. Everyone folds to me in the SB with two black aces. I raise to 2200. Villain calls. To the flop.

Q66 two spades. I bet 3000. Villain raises to 8000. Hero?
Call. Folding is too weak and just giving up to any aggro on this flop is bad. What 6s does he have in his range? A6s or 67s maybe? He probably doesnt do this with a KQ type of hand, so most likely is AQ or a flush draw (TJs?) but still going to check most turns. Having the black Ace gives you runner runner flush as well. If he is aggro he might raise any flush draw there. In tournament he might be bullying and trying to use his stack to push you away knowing there arent many hands you can have that can continue with that board.
__________________
Repeat after me: "I believe in Cohete"

Last edited by Cohete009; 06-17-2019 at 09:53 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 06-17-2019, 11:45 AM
Bicycle Repair Man's Avatar
Bicycle Repair Man Bicycle Repair Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 14,352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cohete009 View Post
Call. Folding is too weak and just giving up to any aggro on this flop is bad. What 6s does he have in his range? A6s or 67s maybe? He probably doesnt do this with a KQ type of hand, so most likely is AQ or a flush draw (TJs?) but still going to check most turns. Having the black Ace gives you runner runner flush as well. If he is aggro he might raise any flush draw there. In tournament he might be bullying and trying to use his stack to push you away knowing there arent many hands you can have that can continue with that board.
If I call, what is my plan on the turn?

I felt like this was a WAWB situation which left me to either fold or shove.
__________________
Farewell, Necco Wafers. At least you died the way you lived: tossed away after someone realized they accidentally bought Necco Wafers. - Cedric Voets, Cracked.com
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 06-17-2019, 11:47 AM
Bicycle Repair Man's Avatar
Bicycle Repair Man Bicycle Repair Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 14,352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsATrap View Post
Did he raise UTG+1 with a 6? Highly unlikely. Did he do so with QQ? Possibly, but without any sort of additional information, it's very difficult to conclude that's what he has. Those are the only 2 hands that beat you at this point. In most instances here, he has like AQs. In most hands, that's what he has, but as this is you polling the audience, I'm sure you're going to tell us he flipped over Queens full when you jammed. I'm also suspecting maybe he had A6s, just because you had given us the info about him winning a previous pot with trips with the A kicker.... curious if he's a n00b who will play any ace.
Because I posted it as a hand question, you can surmise that I know what his hand was, which means either I folded and he showed, or I shoved and he called, or I shoved and he showed what he folded.
__________________
Farewell, Necco Wafers. At least you died the way you lived: tossed away after someone realized they accidentally bought Necco Wafers. - Cedric Voets, Cracked.com
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 06-17-2019, 12:02 PM
mathmajor's Avatar
mathmajor mathmajor is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nowhere in particular
Studying for Japanese
College: B.S. Applied Math
Favorite beer: La Croix Grapefruit
Posts: 12,100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bicycle Repair Man View Post
Queen of spades is on the board. I have ace of spades. There aren't a lot of flush draws left for him to have.
Yeah that was my point in a roundabout way
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by redprinceton
YOU ARE AN EXCEPTIONAL PERSON MATHMAJOR!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.20290 seconds with 9 queries