Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Actuarial Jobs by State

New York  New Jersey  Connecticut  Massachusetts 
California  Florida  Texas  Illinois  Colorado

Old 11-01-2017, 03:37 PM
CAS SOA

Default A dilemma on which path to pursue! Suggestions!?

Let me begin by describing a bit my situation, and the dilemma I'm at!

I am currently in my last year of my PhD in mathematics, and as of a few months ago started to seriously consider pursuing an actuarial career. I passed Exam P in September and am planning on taking Exam FM around February or March 2018.

I am currently on the job market, but since I started considering to pursue an actuarial career fairly late (this past August), I have been focusing only on academic jobs so far. This is where my dilemma arises. I have a few different scenarios that I am playing in my head, and I would appreciate any input from experienced people in this area.

(1) This is the track that I'm currently on. I am thinking of getting a 1-2 year academic position. In the mean time, I intend to pass Exam FM the latest March, and then pass MFE by September 2018. I believe this to be a very realistic timetable for me as far as exams go. So, my plan is to start applying for actuarial jobs shortly after I pass my MFE, which would mean around September or October of 2018. In the meantime I'd try to land an actuarial internship during the Summer of 2018.

There is of course advantages and disadvantages of this first approach. One major advantage I believe would be the fact that by that time I would be a much stronger and more desirable candidate to the prospective employers. One, among many, disadvantages would be, since I am an international student, I would miss one (out of 3 total chances, since I can work up to 3 years on my OPT) chance on the H1B visa lottery.