Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

ACTUARIAL SALARY SURVEYS
Contact DW Simpson for a Personalized Salary Survey

Old 02-11-2019, 01:44 PM
SOA

Studying for FAP / C
Favorite beer: All of the Above
Default Excel Skills

In a few past interviews, I have been asked "What functions do you use in Excel?" after already having a high level discussion on different types of analysis / reporting that I have worked on in my current role. Does anyone have any thoughts on what the interviewer may be looking for here? I've always been super confused on how redundant the question seemed, and have never really figured out a good way to answer.

For context, I have about 3 years of experience using Excel and Access and Business Intelligence tools on a daily basis.
Old 02-11-2019, 02:05 PM
CAS

"High level discussions" doesn't say anything about whether or not you understand the nitty-gritty details.

Also, there are multiple ways you could do something in Excel to "get an answer." E.g., there is VLOOKUP/HLOOKUP vs. INDEX + MATCH.

So I would just talk about a few of the functions you like to use to organize and manage data flow within the workbook you're using.
Old 02-11-2019, 02:10 PM
SOA

Studying for Life ALM & Modeling
Favorite beer: Blue Moon

VLOOKUP and IF (and its variants) are the common Excel functions that actuaries use.
Old 02-11-2019, 02:17 PM
SOA

Studying for FAP / C

so basically I was on the right track with vlookup, if (and other conditional functions), subtotals, etc.? Because that's the answer I gave each time (along with a brief explanation of how I use it).
Old 02-11-2019, 02:25 PM
SOA

Studying for FAP / C