Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Upload your resume securely at https://www.dwsimpson.com
to be contacted when our jobs meet your skills and objectives.

Old 01-03-2017, 03:41 AM
CAS SOA

Studying for 2/FM
Default Preparing for entry-level job market

I've recently been reading a lot of threads about how the EL-market is very saturated so I'm a little concerned and want to make sure I'm able to get job offers when I enter the market.

Right now, I'm a freshman in college (Honors Program). I'm doing a Statistics major. I know a lot of you will object, but I've made the personal decision to try to graduate in 3 years (based on many factors). I have quite a bit of credit from high school and am fairly ahead in certain pathways, so if I take just one extra class every semester moving forward, I'll be able to graduate one year early.

I passed Exam P last summer, and looking to sit for FM in April. I didn't want to take an exam first semester so I could adjust. But I'm planning on steadily taking exams moving forward. I know there's some controversy over passing a lot of exams, and some people think it's a bad idea, but I'd rather have them out of the way as soon as possible - even if it means being under-compensated for my first few years. So I'm going to try to get the ACAS (I want to do P&C) by the time I graduate (or end of junior year if I don't graduate in three years), or worst case scenario at least have five exams by then. Under ideal circumstances, I'm planning on being through with FM this April, MFE in July, and C in the fall.