Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

DW Simpson Global Actuarial & Analytcs Recruitment
Download our 2016 Actuarial Salary Survey
now with state-by-state salary information!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51  
Old 02-10-2011, 10:49 AM
ThatGuy's Avatar
ThatGuy ThatGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
College: I'm Old.
Posts: 1,202
Default

hahaha wow thanks dumples...let me try it..
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 02-10-2011, 10:50 AM
ThatGuy's Avatar
ThatGuy ThatGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
College: I'm Old.
Posts: 1,202
Default

Nope it is still trying to go to the E drive and not the R drive for year 2006 any month...
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 02-10-2011, 11:34 AM
dumples dumples is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,230
Default

Is it completing, but not hitting the condition or is it not completing and giving you errors in the log?

I think one thing you should do is put a
Code:
 
%put &month &year;
before your initial if statement and look at the log.

You might think that it's saying 9, but it's really saying 3*3 and that's why it might not be hitting the condition.

Again, just a thought...
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 02-10-2011, 11:39 AM
ThatGuy's Avatar
ThatGuy ThatGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
College: I'm Old.
Posts: 1,202
Default

Awesome, I was not aware of how to show myself what was being looked at in the if statement. ty
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 02-10-2011, 11:51 AM
BassFreq's Avatar
BassFreq BassFreq is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Studying for all eternity
Favorite beer: Duff
Posts: 1,670
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Also try submitting
Code:
 
options symbolgen mprint mlogic;
That will tell you lots about whats going on in the macro.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed, you have one data point.
Res ipsa loquitur, sed quid in infernos dicet?
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 02-10-2011, 11:57 AM
ThatGuy's Avatar
ThatGuy ThatGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
College: I'm Old.
Posts: 1,202
Default

It's funny dumples. I put that statement in and the loop worked. I can't explain it but thanks for your help today!
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 02-10-2011, 11:57 AM
ThatGuy's Avatar
ThatGuy ThatGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
College: I'm Old.
Posts: 1,202
Default

thanks bassfreq. This was my first macro.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 02-10-2011, 11:58 AM
BassFreq's Avatar
BassFreq BassFreq is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Studying for all eternity
Favorite beer: Duff
Posts: 1,670
Blog Entries: 2
Default

My pleasure. Fun stuff.

fyi...to turn off all the extra macro stuff in the log, submit "options nosymbolgen nomprint nomlogic;
__________________
If at first you don't succeed, you have one data point.
Res ipsa loquitur, sed quid in infernos dicet?
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 03-14-2011, 05:07 PM
ADoubleDot's Avatar
ADoubleDot ADoubleDot is offline
Member
Non-Actuary
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slightly Dusty South
Studying for the rest of my life
Posts: 37,034
Default

Is there an equivalent option to "Option Explicit" from VBA for the SAS data step? Soooooo annoying.
__________________
ADoubleDot: I'm an actuarial icon.

**** Juan.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 05-24-2011, 04:18 PM
Gareth Keenan's Avatar
Gareth Keenan Gareth Keenan is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: by a pretty big bay
Studying for #9
Favorite beer: butter
Posts: 1,272
Default Keep most current record

new Topic!

I have a large data set, 1M+ rows, and There are two fields of interest. I'll call them POL and ITERATION. I've all ready sorted the data, but how can I take my table from the work library "table" and create a "table2" which only keeps all records for the greatest ITERATION for each POL. Example below.

Before
POL ITERATION
1 1
1 2
2 1
3 1
3 2
3 3
3 4

After
POL ITERATION
1 2
2 1
3 4

Anyone know how to do that?

Cheers!

Gareth Keenan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.31138 seconds with 10 queries