Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Actuarial Jobs by State

New York  New Jersey  Connecticut  Massachusetts 
California  Florida  Texas  Illinois  Colorado


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #551  
Old 12-14-2006, 01:46 PM
sticks1839 sticks1839 is offline
Member
CAS AAA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wannabe Actuary View Post
he went to play it last night and it needed and update....he said it literally took about an hour and a half.

he later realized there is an option to do it after you're done playing and it will turn itself off, which he said he would use in the future.

but seriously, 1.5 hours?! no 360 update has taken longer than 2-3 minutes (if even that long).

one of the biggest complaints I've heard so far is the initial set up time.

1. you finally get it home, and some people THEN realize it doesn't come with an HDMI cable
2. right out of the box it needs lengthy updates
3. takes a lot longer than the 360 to set up your user information and online gaming
Because of the ebay prices, I decided to keep my PS3, and my experience doesn't really support some of these claims. I haven't seen the option for updating after you play and having it turn itself off. That'd be cool, but it usually only takes about 5 minutes. Anyway, from my experience:

1. IMO those people should just read the box before they buy the thing. Never claims to come with an HDMI cable.
2. It did need updates out the box, but most games have them on the disc and for me it was not lengthy, even the subsequent ones over the internet.
3. I've never set that up on the 360, but it didn't take more than a couple minutes to set that stuff up and that's including the account setup for buying stuff from the PS store.

That's just my experience, but I am also probably a much more educated consumer and expected most of those things.

My biggest complaints so far:

You can't do more than one thing at a time. You can't have it download a demo/trailer in the background, while you listen to music, view photos, or play a game. You can't listen to music, then go browse photos. What's the point of the "cell" processor with it's multiple SPU's or whatever if the system software can't multitask.

It doesn't upconvert DVDs. Blu-ray movies(I've seen Talladega Nights and Superman Returns) look amazing in 1080p. Can't wait for more movies to come out in Blu-ray, so I can get them through Netflix. But it should be able to upconvert DVDs to at least 720p or 1080i like a $50 DVD player can.
Reply With Quote
  #552  
Old 12-14-2006, 01:53 PM
sticks1839 sticks1839 is offline
Member
CAS AAA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,585
Default

I should probably add that I also had a wireless keyboard ready for it when I started, so I didn't have to type using the pseudo-text messaging system.

Overall I think the PS3 is a great machine, but sorta a disappointment right now. It needs a lot of good firmware updates to make the multimedia functionality as useful as it should be.

More nitpicks:

1. The internet browser needs a lot of work to be functional.
2. If you lose your connection while downloading something, you can't resume from where you left off. Really annoying when downloading a 600mb demo.
Reply With Quote
  #553  
Old 12-14-2006, 02:50 PM
JohnGalt JohnGalt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,053
Default

sgibson, do you actually use your PS3 to look at pictures and listen to music?

I'm only asking because I don't really see the point of it.
Reply With Quote
  #554  
Old 12-14-2006, 02:51 PM
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
Wannabe Actuary Wannabe Actuary is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: in front of a computer screen
Favorite beer: KCCO Gold Lager
Posts: 32,199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnGalt View Post
sgibson, do you actually use your PS3 to look at pictures and listen to music?

I'm only asking because I don't really see the point of it.
I use my 360 to stream music from my XP SP2 desktop (set up with windows media connect)...I like setting my rock music to play while playing sports games and all...
__________________
Official Poster of Post 1,234,567

Quote:
Originally Posted by rawl316 View Post
I like playing with myself
Reply With Quote
  #555  
Old 12-14-2006, 03:12 PM
UNCORRELATED LAY UNCORRELATED LAY is offline
Member
CCA AAA COPA
 
Join Date: May 2005
Favorite beer: Mine
Posts: 6,501
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wannabe Actuary View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnGalt View Post
sgibson, do you actually use your PS3 to look at pictures and listen to music?

I'm only asking because I don't really see the point of it.
I use my 360 to stream music from my XP SP2 desktop (set up with windows media connect)...I like setting my rock music to play while playing sports games and all...
I use the 360 to stream music and photos all the time. Well a couple of times.

It is also useful to stream my porn collection from the office to the big screen. If I only found a way to get feature length films in WMV.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShebaPoe View Post
Your posts are stupid.

All of them.
Reply With Quote
  #556  
Old 12-14-2006, 03:13 PM
UNCORRELATED LAY UNCORRELATED LAY is offline
Member
CCA AAA COPA
 
Join Date: May 2005
Favorite beer: Mine
Posts: 6,501
Default

What type of wireless connection does the PS3 have? I know the 360 uses the G standard. Maybe that is the problem with the above poster.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShebaPoe View Post
Your posts are stupid.

All of them.
Reply With Quote
  #557  
Old 12-14-2006, 05:43 PM
rawl316's Avatar
rawl316 rawl316 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: I wake up in the morning and I piss excellence
Favorite beer: Blue Moon
Posts: 13,580
Default

When I got my PS3, I was told it came with an HDMI cable.

I read today's USA today. Supposedly, this sunday, stores will be getting their last shipments of Wii's AND PS3's. They are supposed to be in the circulars.

They mention how the PS3's dropped from 1000+ to 900 on ebay (on avg.) while the Wii's have gone from 450 to 470 (actually went up).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by win diesel View Post
Yap! Yap! Yap!
Reply With Quote
  #558  
Old 12-15-2006, 09:02 AM
Incredible Hulctuary's Avatar
Incredible Hulctuary Incredible Hulctuary is offline
Member
Non-Actuary
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 25,007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgibson18 View Post
It doesn't upconvert DVDs. Blu-ray movies(I've seen Talladega Nights and Superman Returns) look amazing in 1080p. Can't wait for more movies to come out in Blu-ray, so I can get them through Netflix. But it should be able to upconvert DVDs to at least 720p or 1080i like a $50 DVD player can.
No $50 player can do a good upconversion of DVD. Your TV will upconvert if your player doesn't, and unless the player does a better job of upconversion than the TV, making the player upconvert will likely make the picture look worse.
__________________
The forest was shrinking, but the trees kept voting for the axe because its handle was made from wood, and they thought it was one of them.
Reply With Quote
  #559  
Old 12-15-2006, 09:12 AM
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
Wannabe Actuary Wannabe Actuary is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: in front of a computer screen
Favorite beer: KCCO Gold Lager
Posts: 32,199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Incredible Hulctuary View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgibson18 View Post
It doesn't upconvert DVDs. Blu-ray movies(I've seen Talladega Nights and Superman Returns) look amazing in 1080p. Can't wait for more movies to come out in Blu-ray, so I can get them through Netflix. But it should be able to upconvert DVDs to at least 720p or 1080i like a $50 DVD player can.
No $50 player can do a good upconversion of DVD. Your TV will upconvert if your player doesn't, and unless the player does a better job of upconversion than the TV, making the player upconvert will likely make the picture look worse.
do you know when TV's started doing the upconverting? I'm curious because you're saying it as a blanket statement, yet someone might have an older big screen that doesn't upconvert and you could be leading them down the wrong path
__________________
Official Poster of Post 1,234,567

Quote:
Originally Posted by rawl316 View Post
I like playing with myself
Reply With Quote
  #560  
Old 12-15-2006, 09:21 AM
JohnGalt JohnGalt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,053
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wannabe Actuary View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Incredible Hulctuary View Post
No $50 player can do a good upconversion of DVD. Your TV will upconvert if your player doesn't, and unless the player does a better job of upconversion than the TV, making the player upconvert will likely make the picture look worse.
do you know when TV's started doing the upconverting? I'm curious because you're saying it as a blanket statement, yet someone might have an older big screen that doesn't upconvert and you could be leading them down the wrong path
How else could a TV with a native resolution of 1280x720 (or whatever) display a 720x480 DVD image? It has to upconvert. All HDTVs upconvert, or else you couldn't view any image less than the native resolution.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
atari, data science, gaming pc, predictive analytics, ps3, ps4, switch, vita, wii, wii u, xbox 360, xbox one

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.40510 seconds with 10 queries