Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Old 12-31-2017, 05:46 AM
SOA

College: ECU
Default SOA Predictive Analytics - R over Python

Hi,

I know R is the market leader in stats software but a bit surprised that there was no flexibility to choose Python for the Predictive Analytics assignment?

I have no experience with Python but have seen the ads from Udemy, and web casts / debates on "R vs Python".

Regards,

Aussie 101
Old 12-31-2017, 08:44 AM
SOA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aussie101 View Post
Hi,

I know R is the market leader in stats software but a bit surprised that there was no flexibility to choose Python for the Predictive Analytics assignment?

I have no experience with Python but have seen the ads from Udemy, and web casts / debates on "R vs Python".

Regards,

Aussie 101
Coin toss, IMO.

Lucky for you I was raised by people with a good moral center because if that were not the case, you guys would be in a lot of trouble.
So be very, very glad people like me exist. Your future basically depends on it. --jas66kent

The stock market is going to go up significantly due to Trump Economics --jas66kent
Old 12-31-2017, 08:32 PM

According to Benjamin Johnson at the 2017 Predictive Analytics Symposium:

Quote:
Why choose R over others? • Free • Install R on any computer • Open source • Share as much as you want • Large community • Easily find support online
Quote:
R is a tool, not the chest • Don’t join the argument of R or Excel, R or Python, R or SAS • This isn’t Team Edward vs Team Jacob

Team R (He’s a “vampie-R”)
Old 01-02-2018, 04:53 PM
SOA

College: UCLA Alumni