Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > General Actuarial
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

General Actuarial Non-Specific Actuarial Topics - Before posting a thread, please browse over our other sections to see if there is a better fit, such as Careers - Employment, Actuarial Science Universities Forum or any of our other 100+ forums.

Old 07-05-2018, 03:55 PM
CAS

Studying for FM
College: 1st Year Undergraduate
Favorite beer: Darker the better
Default Graduate degree for free or Actuarial exams?

I'm currently an evening/adult undergraduate student in Mathematics, planning on sitting for actuarial exams soon. I'm also currently employed at an insurance company. I've read that masters degrees aren't that useful and focusing on exams should be a priority, so far I've planned to follow that advice and hunker down for exams after graduation.

That being said, my employer has a generous tuition reimbursement program, paying back 100% of the cost with no limit. I'm really debating about getting a masters because of this.

What do you think, if money isn't a factor should I pursue a masters? Also, because of the slower actuarial progression, I'm leaning towards only applying to Harvard and MIT since I'm in the Boston area. I'll be looking for Data Science or Applied Mathematics respectively.

It's a long shot but should I be accepted to one of those schools and get a free ride, would it be worth it career-wise?

I'm also semi-interested in a career in academia, possibly teaching in the evenings later in my life, or participating in industry research, academic volunteer work etc.

Thanks so much for the advice AO.
Old 07-05-2018, 04:04 PM
SOA AAA

Studying for More Money
Favorite beer: Wurzel Bier