Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions


Upload your resume securely at https://www.dwsimpson.com
to be contacted when our jobs meet your skills and objectives.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-06-2009, 10:29 AM
Gandalf's Avatar
Gandalf Gandalf is offline
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
SOA
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Middle Earth
Posts: 30,913
Default TABLE in Excel

Can someone tell me how this function works

{=TABLE(,A1)}

I realize itīs some kind of array formula, but I donīt know the syntax. A1 contains an integer, but based on some limited experimentation changing the value of A1 does not change the value of any of the cells whose formula is {=TABLE(,A1)}.

The spreadsheet was created in Excel 2007. Iīm opening it in Excel 2003.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-06-2009, 12:23 PM
dumples dumples is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,247
Default

I don't think that this is a function that you type, so much as one that you input with the data > table from the dropdown in 2003.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2009, 12:24 PM
dumples dumples is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,247
Default

here' s a link
http://www.ozgrid.com/Excel/data-tables.htm
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2009, 10:50 AM
Gandalf's Avatar
Gandalf Gandalf is offline
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
SOA
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Middle Earth
Posts: 30,913
Default

Thanks so much. That feature could also be valuable in spreadsheets I create.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-07-2009, 02:00 PM
Old Timer's Avatar
Old Timer Old Timer is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: The Great East
Posts: 1,982
Default

It can be very valuable, but if you have a complex spreadsheet, recalc times can escalate. There is an option in the calculation switches to use automatic, but not to update tables. That may be of interest to you.
__________________
Life is chaos personified.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-09-2009, 12:57 PM
FormLetter's Avatar
FormLetter FormLetter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 48,524
Default

that function is great
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-25-2018, 12:16 PM
QSLSYL QSLSYL is offline
SOA
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
College: University of Waterloo
Favorite beer: Kokanee+Stella
Posts: 5
Default

This is great. Thank you for sharing. I was trying to figure out the data table feature for ADV CFE module work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.17657 seconds with 9 queries