Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Exams - Please Limit Discussion to Exam-Related Topics > SoA/CAS Preliminary Exams > Financial Mathematics
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Browse Open Actuarial Jobs

Life  Health  Casualty  Pension  Entry Level  All Jobs  Salaries

Financial Mathematics Old FM Forum

Old 05-29-2017, 07:52 PM
Non-Actuary

College: Miami University (Class of '19)
Default Exam FM/2 August 2017 Thread

Hey all,

Just thought I'd start a thread for us August exam-takers. I started studying for this thing a few days ago and it's already starting to look a little crazy; is this just [what I will from this point forward refer to as] "First Actuarial Exam Syndrome" setting in?
Old 05-29-2017, 09:35 PM
Non-Actuary

Have you ever taken a course in financial math or theory of interest before, or are you self-studying from scratch? If the latter, I can see why it might seem somewhat intimidating.

I find the FM material to be interesting, but I've had classes on it in college. I don't think I'd be comfortable starting from scratch and attempting the exam in a little more than two months though. That's just me and YMMV.

As usual, if you have questions, bring them here and someone will likely be able to help you out.

Spoiler:

“Progress isn't made by early risers. It's made by lazy men trying to find easier ways to do something.”

“Don't handicap your children by making their lives easy.”

“There are no dangerous weapons; there are only dangerous men.”

“A desire not to butt into other people's business is at least eighty percent of all human 'wisdom'...and the other twenty percent isn't very important.”

“Belief gets in the way of learning.”

“The first principle of freedom is the right to go to hell in your own handbasket.”

“Does history record any case in which the majority was right?”

Old 05-29-2017, 10:23 PM
Non-Actuary