Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Health - Disability
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Fill in a brief DW Simpson Registration Form
to be contacted when new jobs meet your criteria.

Old 12-08-2014, 12:50 PM
SOA

Default Health Reserves: How do you treat "large claims" for IBNR?

I'm new to the reserving department of a health insurance company. I don't have previous health reserving experience, so I'm wondering if folks can share what tools/techniques/methods/advice they have for treating claims in the lags that are abnormally large.

Currently, our company leaves the large claims in the lags while calculating a base level of IBNR, and accrues separately an additional amount for large claims that are over a certain threshold (e.g., $100,000). The downside to this, from my perspective, is that the large claims are "noise" in the lags that are used to calculate the base level of IBNR.

Is this a common approach?

Thanks in advance for the advice.
Old 12-08-2014, 01:11 PM
SOA AAA

How large are they relative to the size of a single cell in the triangle, and of the total incurred claims paid thus far?

This approach implies that large claims happen, and that other large claims will happen in about the same frequency (though the timing is not so precise).
I.e., some month after that large claim's incurred month might get a large claim. Unknown is which incurred month it will be, nor how much it will be for.
If you're using the IBNR or the completion factors or the estimated ultimate incurred claims of each month for some other project, then yeah, maybe you shouldn't.
But as an estimate of the current IBNR, not so bad.

The alternatives are much more complex and don't, IMO, add much accuracy.
Here's an alternative approach:
1. Get your lag triangle.
2. Define "large claims" and remove them from the lag triangle.