Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 07-25-2016, 03:44 PM
George Frankly George Frankly is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: CO
Favorite beer: Sam Smith Oatmeal
Posts: 6,878
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ahow View Post
It may sound odd, but you might look into welding websites for tips on wiring up something with that kind of draw. Welding machines run in the 50-75A range for a higher end models, I believe.

Depending on how things are set up, you may want to run a 220v line to it which will reduce the amperage requirement and reduce the amount of heat generated. Reduced heat will probably also extend the life of the amp.
We are moving, so I'll have to wait and see what the next house looks like, wiring-wise. If it's somewhat easy to upgrade so that I can have the sub on a dedicated circuit with a larger breaker, great. If not, oh well. The sub is very efficient, so even at ~2kW, it will get quite loud.

Back in my car audio days, I knew a few folks who used welding cable as power cable for large amplifiers.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-25-2016, 05:40 PM
nonlnear nonlnear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Favorite beer: Civil Society Fresh IPA
Posts: 25,899
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by George Frankly View Post
We are moving, so I'll have to wait and see what the next house looks like, wiring-wise. If it's somewhat easy to upgrade so that I can have the sub on a dedicated circuit with a larger breaker, great. If not, oh well. The sub is very efficient, so even at ~2kW, it will get quite loud.

Back in my car audio days, I knew a few folks who used welding cable as power cable for large amplifiers.
IMO that's the kind of sub one shouldn't bother getting if one considers oneself constrained by what the next house happens to have.

Not that you shouldn't get it, of course!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-25-2016, 08:50 PM
George Frankly George Frankly is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: CO
Favorite beer: Sam Smith Oatmeal
Posts: 6,878
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nonlnear View Post
IMO that's the kind of sub one shouldn't bother getting if one considers oneself constrained by what the next house happens to have.

Not that you shouldn't get it, of course!
Home inventory in my area is tight, and I can't realistically use this as a 'must have' for the next house. It would be great if we get a house with an unfinished basement. I could wire for this thing, and I could place this in an unfinished area, and just cut a hole in the wall for it to fire through into the family room.

I'd still have a pair of 15" subs to deal with, but they aren't nearly as large.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-25-2016, 11:04 PM
nonlnear nonlnear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Favorite beer: Civil Society Fresh IPA
Posts: 25,899
Default

I didn't mean that you should be able to get whatever house you wanted necessarily, but just that when dropping that much on a sub, one generally is indifferent to the cost of running a new circuit.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-26-2016, 12:14 AM
George Frankly George Frankly is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: CO
Favorite beer: Sam Smith Oatmeal
Posts: 6,878
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nonlnear View Post
I didn't mean that you should be able to get whatever house you wanted necessarily, but just that when dropping that much on a sub, one generally is indifferent to the cost of running a new circuit.
Ah. Gotcha. I will weigh the cost of wiring vs the benefit of about 3dB more output.

It's also possible I might swap subs. I have a friend who swaps gear frequently, and he currently owns a smaller sub (Seaton Submersive) with two 15" and a 2.4kW amp. That's roughly what a 15A circuit could deliver. So that factors into the decision.

At any rate, I doubt I will be hurting too much for bass!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-26-2016, 10:58 AM
Zed's Avatar
Zed Zed is offline
CAS
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 4
Default

Houses come and go. But great quality audio is forever.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-26-2016, 11:19 AM
vividox's Avatar
vividox vividox is offline
Lead Guitarist
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Favorite beer: Avery Mephistopheles
Posts: 55,759
Default

I've got a couple of Yamaha HS-5 powered monitors at home for my studio rig. Not really audiophile at all, just a decent pair of monitors to hear a pure, uncolored sound when I'm mixing. Also, I can't tell a difference between a 192kpbs mp3 and FLAC, so I don't bother with anything higher than 192kbps. That's all I got.
__________________
This post was crafted using a special blend of herbs and sarcasm.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-27-2016, 08:17 AM
Incredible Hulctuary's Avatar
Incredible Hulctuary Incredible Hulctuary is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 23,031
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vividox View Post
I've got a couple of Yamaha HS-5 powered monitors at home for my studio rig. Not really audiophile at all, just a decent pair of monitors to hear a pure, uncolored sound when I'm mixing. Also, I can't tell a difference between a 192kpbs mp3 and FLAC, so I don't bother with anything higher than 192kbps. That's all I got.
What are you feeding the Yamahas with, a laptop sound card or a separate DAC? Are you ensuring bit-perfect playback? FLAC can get degraded if you don't.
__________________
The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command.
-- Nineteen Eighty Four, George Orwell
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-27-2016, 10:15 AM
vividox's Avatar
vividox vividox is offline
Lead Guitarist
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Favorite beer: Avery Mephistopheles
Posts: 55,759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Incredible Hulctuary View Post
What are you feeding the Yamahas with, a laptop sound card or a separate DAC? Are you ensuring bit-perfect playback? FLAC can get degraded if you don't.
Feeding the Yamahas with a Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, which is also the interface I use to record.
__________________
This post was crafted using a special blend of herbs and sarcasm.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07-29-2016, 05:49 AM
Incredible Hulctuary's Avatar
Incredible Hulctuary Incredible Hulctuary is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 23,031
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vividox View Post
Feeding the Yamahas with a Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, which is also the interface I use to record.
If your OS or playing software can control the volume during playback, the digital stream is being altered before it reaches the Focusrite (except maybe if the volume is 100%).
__________________
The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command.
-- Nineteen Eighty Four, George Orwell
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.31009 seconds with 9 queries