Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2017, 12:33 PM
yoyo's Avatar
yoyo yoyo is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 20,667
Default Need unlimited calling plan Canada to US

mrs yoyo will accompany me to Toronto for the spring cas meeting. she won't have to use vacation days if she can work while i'm in sessions. part of what she does are webinar demos with audio over her cell phone.

we use Net10 as our US carrier, and i don't think they have a suitable international plan.

the basic needs are unlimited minutes and a good voice connection. i don't think mrs yoyo will want to rely on voip for her work calls

can i easily get a reasonably priced monthly plan/sim card in canada for making calls to the US?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2017, 12:39 PM
ahow's Avatar
ahow ahow is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Burninating the Indiana
Favorite beer: Stone 11th Anniversary Ale
Posts: 12,216
Default

We are prepping to switch from Straight Talk (similar to Net10) to Cricket. It uses AT&T's network and includes free Canada/Mexico roaming (limited to 50% of usage over a rolling 3 months) and calling/texting to Canada/Mexico. The plan is $50 (minus $5 for autopay) and the each additional line is an extra $10 off. So for our two lines which are $45+$45=$90 now will be $45+$35=$80. It also includes 8gb of data instead of 5gb.

Link:
https://www.cricketwireless.com/cell-phone-plans
__________________
ahow
Badass
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2017, 12:43 PM
ahow's Avatar
ahow ahow is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Burninating the Indiana
Favorite beer: Stone 11th Anniversary Ale
Posts: 12,216
Default

As an alternative, if you know someone who is Canadian when you are up there, Virgin Mobile has a data only tiered plan that is $5 for <10mb, $20 for <1gb, and $40 for <5gb. It is postpaid so you need to pay the bill online after the fact. We have that currently but are going to cancel it when we switch to Cricket.

Unless you need to use a network other than AT&T, there really isn't a reason to NOT be on Cricket, IMO.
__________________
ahow
Badass
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2017, 12:46 PM
ElDucky's Avatar
ElDucky ElDucky is offline
Free Mason
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: In a van, down by the river
Studying for Let me worry about blank
Favorite beer: Trappistes Rochefort 8
Posts: 38,066
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo View Post
mrs yoyo will accompany me to Toronto for the spring cas meeting. she won't have to use vacation days if she can work while i'm in sessions. part of what she does are webinar demos with audio over her cell phone.

we use Net10 as our US carrier, and i don't think they have a suitable international plan.

the basic needs are unlimited minutes and a good voice connection. i don't think mrs yoyo will want to rely on voip for her work calls

can i easily get a reasonably priced monthly plan/sim card in canada for making calls to the US?
Based on some very quick research, you will be better off making sure the current phone can work in Toronto without high roaming charges, rather than trying to get a pre paid plan in Canada.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2017, 01:57 PM
yoyo's Avatar
yoyo yoyo is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 20,667
Default

good info, thanks. looks like we'll be moving to cricket
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-2017, 02:06 PM
MooBeay MooBeay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,483
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ahow View Post
As an alternative, if you know someone who is Canadian when you are up there, Virgin Mobile has a data only tiered plan that is $5 for <10mb, $20 for <1gb, and $40 for <5gb. It is postpaid so you need to pay the bill online after the fact. We have that currently but are going to cancel it when we switch to Cricket.

Unless you need to use a network other than AT&T, there really isn't a reason to NOT be on Cricket, IMO.
Is the 8GB shared or for each line?

And by my simple math 4 lines would be $150.

I use AT&T and the 4 lines is cheaper with them.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-08-2017, 02:12 PM
llcooljabe's Avatar
llcooljabe llcooljabe is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 21,795
Default

AFAIK either T-mobile also has unlimited canada/us calling and vice versa.

https://www.t-mobile.com/optional-services/roaming.html

Edit, it looks like their top tier plan.
__________________
www.GoodNewsNow.info
Propoganda
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-08-2017, 08:24 PM
ahow's Avatar
ahow ahow is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Burninating the Indiana
Favorite beer: Stone 11th Anniversary Ale
Posts: 12,216
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MooBeay View Post
Is the 8GB shared or for each line?

And by my simple math 4 lines would be $150.

I use AT&T and the 4 lines is cheaper with them.
With 4 lines with autopay, it would be $45+$35+$25+$15=$120.

And the 8gb is per line.

Depending on what phone you have, you can also tether. I think it is either with their phones they sell or any iPhone 5 or newer. Check the site, they give the details. Since I have an unsupported Nexus 6P, that was my biggest disappointment.
__________________
ahow
Badass
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-08-2017, 08:26 PM
ahow's Avatar
ahow ahow is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Burninating the Indiana
Favorite beer: Stone 11th Anniversary Ale
Posts: 12,216
Default

And since I've done all the research, there is no straight up prepaid in Canada. You have to have a Canadian ID to get anything. Super weird, especially after traveling to many other countries (Costa Rica, Spain, Singapore) where you walk into a convenience store, pay $15-20, and walk out with 3gb of data.
__________________
ahow
Badass
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-09-2017, 02:32 AM
<12parsecs's Avatar
<12parsecs <12parsecs is offline
Member
Non-Actuary
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 143
Default

It's been quite awhile since I researched, but AT&T had a pre-paid US phone option that could be used in Canada.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.34814 seconds with 9 queries