Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Browse Open Actuarial Jobs

Life  Health  Casualty  Pension  Entry Level  All Jobs  Salaries


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2013, 08:51 AM
mlschop's Avatar
mlschop mlschop is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36,406
Default TiVo Roamio

I think a lot of people end up settling for cable box DVRs or homemade PC/Linux boxes, but I'm still a TiVo customer. I have a Series 3 TiVo HD and it's really starting to feel like a dinosaur.

TiVo announced their new Series 5 boxes, branded Roamio. Base model is $200 and is a 4-tuner. The Plus/Pro models are $400/600 and come with 6-tuners (who the eff needs that many tuner?!), more storage, plus built in streaming to iOS devices and MoCA (I might need someone like ahow to give me a crash course on MoCA).

I'm really considering ordering one of these today. Storage is never a problem for us, so I need to decide if we'll actually use/need streaming and MoCA capabilities.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2013, 09:32 AM
mlschop's Avatar
mlschop mlschop is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36,406
Default

Ordered the "Plus" model. I think we'll use streaming to iOS devices.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2013, 10:01 AM
dumples dumples is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,246
Default

MoCA is simple, but nice.

If you want to set up a second tivo, say a mini, the mini can get data from the main tivo without using ethernet (if you aren't wired or don't want powerline) or wireless(which is unreliable). It took a few tries to get it to connect, but I think that it's fine now that it is working.

As for 6 tuners, it might not be too much in a whole home set up. The mini's each use a dedicated tuner for streaming and any recording is done on other tuners. 4 tuners works well enough with one mini, but if there was even one other clients, it probably wouldn't be enough.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2013, 12:26 PM
Dr T Non-Fan Dr T Non-Fan is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Just outside of Nowhere
Posts: 90,764
Default

OK, one question: where do you put six tuners??
I mean, who is your content provider that gives you six tuners?

Does your TiVo replace the tuner? That would be sweet, instead of relying on the TiVo to change the channel of the tuner. We had a TiVo hooked up to a Time/Warner box, and it didn't do that great of a job of changing the channels (I suspect T/W was the cause).

We have two DVRs (one for each TV) from FIOS, and they're connected somehow, so we can watch shows from either DVR on either TV.

Still, I'd love to go back to TiVo, as long as I could pay for service one time for life instead of monthly.
__________________
DTNF's Basic Philosophy Regarding Posting: There's no emoticon for what I'm feeling! -- Jeff Albertson (CBG)
DTNF's Trademarked Standard Career Advice: "pass some exams and get back to us."
DTNF's Major advice: "Doesn't matter. Choose major that helps you with goal of Career Advice."
DTNF's Résumé Advice: Have a good and interesting answer to every item on it for the interviews.
DTNF's Law of Job Offers: You not only have to qualify for the position, but you also have to be the best candidate available for the offer.
DTNF's Work Philosophy: I am actuary. Please insert data. -- Actuary Actuarying Rodriguez.
Twitches' Advice to Crazy Women: Please just go buy your 30 cats already.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-20-2013, 12:54 PM
mlschop's Avatar
mlschop mlschop is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36,406
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr T Non-Fan View Post
OK, one question: where do you put six tuners??
I mean, who is your content provider that gives you six tuners?

Does your TiVo replace the tuner? That would be sweet, instead of relying on the TiVo to change the channel of the tuner. We had a TiVo hooked up to a Time/Warner box, and it didn't do that great of a job of changing the channels (I suspect T/W was the cause).

We have two DVRs (one for each TV) from FIOS, and they're connected somehow, so we can watch shows from either DVR on either TV.

Still, I'd love to go back to TiVo, as long as I could pay for service one time for life instead of monthly.
I'm not sure if you're missing something or if I'm not understanding your question.

Cable companies have been providing M-Cards (multi-stream cablecards) for over 5 years now. M-Cards can decode up to 6 channels simultaneously. However, cable boxes must be programmed to handle multiple tuners. Cable and Sat providers have only recently (last 2 years or so) starting pushing boxes with more than 2 tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-20-2013, 12:55 PM
dumples dumples is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr T Non-Fan View Post
Does your TiVo replace the tuner?
This.

I have RCN, they provide me with a tivo branded box. Before this was available, I had to rent a cable card from them to install in a tivo box that I provided.

http://dvr.about.com/od/tivo/a/Does-...Offer-Tivo.htm
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-21-2013, 08:33 AM
SlowMotionWalter's Avatar
SlowMotionWalter SlowMotionWalter is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 11,747
Default

I was looking up FIOS cable cards and noticed this bit about not being able to use On Demand. Is that a limitation of M-Cards in general, or one imposed by Verizon?

Quote:
Can I use the FiOS TV Interactive Media Guide or Parental Controls with a CableCARD?

No. Some of the advanced features of your FiOS TV service are not available using a CableCARD, such as the following:

FiOS TV Interactive Media Guide
On Demand
FiOS TV Widgets
Parental Controls
A Set-Top Box is required to access these services. If you want these advanced options, you may wish to obtain a Set-Top Box to ensure access to the full range of FiOS TV services. Call 1-800-VERIZON (1-800-837-4966) to request a Set-Top Box.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-21-2013, 08:49 AM
mlschop's Avatar
mlschop mlschop is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36,406
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlowMotionWalter View Post
I was looking up FIOS cable cards and noticed this bit about not being able to use On Demand. Is that a limitation of M-Cards in general, or one imposed by Verizon?
It's not clear to me why it's restricted. I think Cablecards in general are allowed 2-way communication, which is needed to make VOD possible. It could be a restriction all cable companies have set up or perhaps TiVo doesn't want to bother with developing technology to communicate VOD requests with various providers.

Part of me thinks it's gotta be a box-specific thing, because Comcast has created a VOD app that runs on Tivos to allow their customers to access On Demand (they also put the app on other devices, like Xbox). If Comcast were blocking TiVo from accessing VOD, they wouldn't then turn around and give them an app.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-21-2013, 09:37 AM
sticks1839 sticks1839 is offline
Member
CAS AAA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,551
Default

I think you're right mlschop. I don't think they're actively blocking the content from working, but I'm pretty sure VOD services are actually software apps that run on the boxes, so it'd be up to the provider to build an app to work on the Tivo, which Comcast has done (out later this fall or something I read). Verizon has not done this yet for FIOS on Tivo, but they do have iOS apps; so maybe it's coming eventually too.

They probably had little incentive to create the apps before since it reduced set top box rental income and revenue from subscriptions; but now they need to provide their services in a broader manner (like Xbox) to be competitive and stave off cord-cutters.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-20-2013, 12:37 PM
nonlnear nonlnear is offline
Member
Non-Actuary
 
Join Date: May 2010
Favorite beer: Civil Society Fresh IPA
Posts: 29,010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr T Non-Fan View Post
Still, I'd love to go back to TiVo, as long as I could pay for service one time for life instead of monthly.
They have lifetime service available.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.33994 seconds with 9 queries