Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Actuarial Jobs by State

New York  New Jersey  Connecticut  Massachusetts 
California  Florida  Texas  Illinois  Colorado


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-04-2008, 02:46 PM
Gates Is Antichrist's Avatar
Gates Is Antichrist Gates Is Antichrist is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hell
Favorite beer: Pacifico
Posts: 156
Default Is copying autofiltered Excel data always by value?

Is that true? I'd like the formulas. The idea is, I have monthly references on sheet B:
=A!A1
=A!A2
...
=A!A300
etc. where only every 12th has data, I autofiltered nonblanks, hoping to copy the filtered rectangle to sheet C getting (contiguously)
=A!A12
=A!A24
...
=A!A300
etc. But it's copying values. Tough luck for me?
__________________
______
ON STRIKE. Thomas Jefferson and I are on strike against AO over a little matter called the First Amendment and censorship against dissenting views. I hereby choose to toss my voluntary contributions into the Harbor rather than accede in slavery to the oppressor.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2008, 04:35 PM
dumples dumples is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,247
Default

If you copy, then hit paste special (edit > Paste Special) then you can select formulas, but I don't think this'll work for you the way that you want it to because you are likely copying relative references which won't line up unless you put them in the same spots.

A simple way to solve your problem would be to take you formulas and make them strings, copy them to yourr new grid, then setting them back to formulas. I would have you do this by doing a replace (ctrl+h) on the "=" character, replacing it with "ThankYouDumples=" then copy and paste into your new chart, then replace "ThankYouDumples=" with "=" to make your formulas back into formulas.

Obviously you would want to check your workbook first to make sure that "ThankYouDumples=" wasn't part of your workbook before you started. Also pay attention to the count of replaced values and make sure that it makes sense.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2008, 04:48 PM
Gates Is Antichrist's Avatar
Gates Is Antichrist Gates Is Antichrist is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hell
Favorite beer: Pacifico
Posts: 156
Default

Thanks; I hoped to skip that tedium. BTW, I have never run into a problem just swapping = with '= (single quote). (Except I have oft been burned copying and pasting from WORD, who typically changes "basic quotes" to "opening and closing quotes" wreaking havoc)
__________________
______
ON STRIKE. Thomas Jefferson and I are on strike against AO over a little matter called the First Amendment and censorship against dissenting views. I hereby choose to toss my voluntary contributions into the Harbor rather than accede in slavery to the oppressor.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2008, 11:26 PM
Elessar Dunedain Elessar Dunedain is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 3RftS
Studying for Actuarial scientist
Posts: 23
Default

That's a subtle way to ask for thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.27579 seconds with 9 queries