Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-28-2018, 03:57 PM
LifeIsAPoissonProcess's Avatar
LifeIsAPoissonProcess LifeIsAPoissonProcess is offline
Member
CAS SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Studying for 7
Favorite beer: Bourbon County
Posts: 6,498
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arroway View Post
Sorry, one more thing. I was assuming you had a different device (eg Smart TV) for streaming, but if you are just streaming to your phone the hotspot limit doesn't matter.

You could also run it on your phone but plug in an HDMI dongle to get it to display on the tv, and bypass the tethering.
Like a Roku stick? Does streaming youtube/netflix from my phone to Roku use cellular or would I have to use my hotspot?
__________________
Quote:
And you should be the best Actuary not the worst Actuary. - Latitude 30
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-28-2018, 07:08 PM
Arroway's Avatar
Arroway Arroway is offline
Member
CAS SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: In a house
Studying for Done, bois!
College: UConn
Favorite beer: Barq's or Mug, or any local Root Beer with caffeine
Posts: 492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LifeIsAPoissonProcess View Post
Like a Roku stick? Does streaming youtube/netflix from my phone to Roku use cellular or would I have to use my hotspot?
Not sure on that one, sorry.
__________________
Arroway, Injustice 2 Raid Leader

All opinions are either my own, or made up for dramatic and/or comedic effect.

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-28-2018, 08:48 PM
Arroway's Avatar
Arroway Arroway is offline
Member
CAS SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: In a house
Studying for Done, bois!
College: UConn
Favorite beer: Barq's or Mug, or any local Root Beer with caffeine
Posts: 492
Default

I did discover that Netflix is not supported in screen mirroring, so you couldn't do that even with wifi. Or at least that's what's been reported online; I have no direct experience. It does appear you need wifi to stream to Roku stick, it's not using BT or any other method.

We have a $35 dongle that's a male lightning cable on one end and female HDMI and female lightning on the other. We use it in the car to play from ipad to the drop down monitor (for the kids). You could use that and run HDMI to your tv for output. Not a great permanent solution, but it would work for a couple weeks.
__________________
Arroway, Injustice 2 Raid Leader

All opinions are either my own, or made up for dramatic and/or comedic effect.

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-28-2018, 09:16 PM
Incredible Hulctuary's Avatar
Incredible Hulctuary Incredible Hulctuary is offline
Member
Non-Actuary
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 25,332
Default

Get an antenna and use that to watch TV while you wait for the cable connection.
__________________
The forest was shrinking, but the trees kept voting for the axe because its handle was made from wood, and they thought it was one of them.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-29-2018, 12:43 AM
Arroway's Avatar
Arroway Arroway is offline
Member
CAS SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: In a house
Studying for Done, bois!
College: UConn
Favorite beer: Barq's or Mug, or any local Root Beer with caffeine
Posts: 492
Default

I think OP is more interested in Netflix than broadcast TV.
__________________
Arroway, Injustice 2 Raid Leader

All opinions are either my own, or made up for dramatic and/or comedic effect.

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-29-2018, 11:10 AM
LifeIsAPoissonProcess's Avatar
LifeIsAPoissonProcess LifeIsAPoissonProcess is offline
Member
CAS SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Studying for 7
Favorite beer: Bourbon County
Posts: 6,498
Default

Yeah, more looking for general internet - although we also have an antenna. Most importantly wife needs internet for intermittent WFH.
__________________
Quote:
And you should be the best Actuary not the worst Actuary. - Latitude 30
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-29-2018, 12:54 PM
George Frankly's Avatar
George Frankly George Frankly is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: CO
Favorite beer: Sam Smith Oatmeal
Posts: 10,159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Childish Gambino View Post
Verizon is starting to roll out 5G for home use in a few cities: https://www.verizonwireless.com/support/5g-home-faqs/
Oh dang, I signed up to be notified if/when they make it to my city. I currently pay $60/mo for 40mpbs, and Verizon is promising 300-900mbps for $50/mo (if you have a Verizon cell phone, which I do).
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-03-2018, 11:25 AM
LifeIsAPoissonProcess's Avatar
LifeIsAPoissonProcess LifeIsAPoissonProcess is offline
Member
CAS SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Studying for 7
Favorite beer: Bourbon County
Posts: 6,498
Default

Update - wifeisapoissonprocess and I were using mobile data at our new home on Friday/Saturday. We were using about 1GB a day with no other internet.

I logged on to Google FI and saw that they stop charging after 10GB! Got an e-mail that said everything in excess of 10GB is free. So Sunday we went from 3GB month-to-date of usage to 12GB in just one day. Data plan capped at $100 charge and it doesn't reset until 12/27. Lucked out on that one!
__________________
Quote:
And you should be the best Actuary not the worst Actuary. - Latitude 30
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-03-2018, 12:06 PM
BG5150's Avatar
BG5150 BG5150 is offline
Member
Non-Actuary
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Favorite beer: the one you're buying me
Posts: 20,892
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arroway View Post
Also -- I only use wifi at home, not at work or around town, and I use a lot of data.
Why wouldn't you use wi-fi at work? Or around town?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-03-2018, 12:19 PM
Arroway's Avatar
Arroway Arroway is offline
Member
CAS SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: In a house
Studying for Done, bois!
College: UConn
Favorite beer: Barq's or Mug, or any local Root Beer with caffeine
Posts: 492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BG5150 View Post

Why wouldn't you use wi-fi at work? Or around town?
For around town, I have unlimited data, so why connect to random hotspots? Especially when they're typically slower than cellular, often require you to register, and often block things. I play Injustice 2 on my phone all the time, and a lot of "free" wifi blocks it, or slows it down so much it's unplayable.

I accidentally connected to the wifi at my kids' school, and whenever I was near a school building, I couldn't connect to my game, because they block GameCenter. So, I "forgot" the network so it won't automatically connect.

At work, if I use wifi they have the ability to see the traffic, plus the above things. Most days it's connected, but if I'm going to play Injustice at lunch, I disconnect from wifi so I don't use all the company bandwith for my game.

EDIT -- IJ2 is really finicky about connecting, and without a good connection you can't even open the game. It seems to prefer cellular over wifi, so I have learned to just use that, especially since it's "free" anyway.
__________________
Arroway, Injustice 2 Raid Leader

All opinions are either my own, or made up for dramatic and/or comedic effect.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.19700 seconds with 9 queries