Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions


Fill in a brief DW Simpson Registration Form
to be contacted when new jobs meet your criteria.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2019, 11:32 AM
Noonien Soong Noonien Soong is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 72
Default ODBC through MS Access basic question

Unfortunately for now, circumstances dictate or me to access a ODBC dataset that i'll need to use Access rather than sql or a language i'm more familiar with.

Once you connect to odbc sources, I've seen the syntax for the tables you're accessing to be something like the below.

wordswords.table1
wordswords.table2
wordywords.table_1
wordywords.table_2

If the above was what i was looking at in MS access for tables to link to, would "wordswords" and "wordywords" be considered schemas?


Humanly,

Noonien Soong
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2019, 12:37 PM
Colonel Smoothie's Avatar
Colonel Smoothie Colonel Smoothie is online now
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
College: Jamba Juice University
Favorite beer: AO Amber Ale
Posts: 49,388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noonien Soong View Post
Unfortunately for now, circumstances dictate or me to access a ODBC dataset that i'll need to use Access rather than sql or a language i'm more familiar with.

Once you connect to odbc sources, I've seen the syntax for the tables you're accessing to be something like the below.

wordswords.table1
wordswords.table2
wordywords.table_1
wordywords.table_2

If the above was what i was looking at in MS access for tables to link to, would "wordswords" and "wordywords" be considered schemas?


Humanly,

Noonien Soong
I thought in VBA you have to declare your variables before you use them. What type is wordsbywords?
__________________
Recommended Readings for the EL Actuary || Recommended Readings for the EB Actuary

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wigmeister General View Post
Don't you even think about sending me your resume. I'll turn it into an origami boulder and return it to you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-21-2019, 01:19 PM
ALivelySedative's Avatar
ALivelySedative ALivelySedative is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Land of the Pine
College: UNC-Chapel Hill Alum
Favorite beer: Red Oak
Posts: 3,408
Default

I use odbc w/ access from time to time, but don't have the technical knowledge to answer your question. I don't really know the definition of 'schema' here. I've just always considered them like subfolder names or something.
__________________
Stuff | 6 | ACAS | FCAS stuff
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-05-2019, 03:22 PM
Alpha12 Alpha12 is offline
Member
CAS Non-Actuary
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Studying for MAS-I
Posts: 772
Default

I would just click "record macro" in excel, import the table manually, then parse the resulting macro as I saw fit. GL, sounds like fun!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.11978 seconds with 11 queries