Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Search Actuarial Jobs by State @ DWSimpson.com:
AL AK AR AZ CA CO CT DE FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA
ME MD MA MI MN MS MO MT NE NH NJ NM NY NV NC ND
OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #111  
Old 11-15-2018, 12:26 PM
act_123 act_123 is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,984
Default

I have 256 M.2 in my laptop, and an empty 2.5 inch. I was thinking of getting an Evo.

Do you know if you need to buy the mounts for the 2.5 inch if you aren't buying a hard drive?
__________________
ACAS 7 8 9
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 11-15-2018, 12:32 PM
Arroway's Avatar
Arroway Arroway is offline
Member
CAS SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: In a house
Studying for Done, bois!
College: UConn
Favorite beer: Barq's or Mug, or any local Root Beer with caffeine
Posts: 1,426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by act_123 View Post
I have 256 M.2 in my laptop, and an empty 2.5 inch. I was thinking of getting an Evo.

Do you know if you need to buy the mounts for the 2.5 inch if you aren't buying a hard drive?
I have to look at mine, I can't remember exactly which connection it uses. I googled it, and it says PCIe, but that doesn't sound right. The NVME are way more expensive than the M2, but also way faster. I just don't remember which one mine takes.

As to the mounts, I would think for a laptop you wouldn't need to buy them. I've never bought mounts separately.

Even in my son's desktop I was able to secure a 2.5 inch SSD without additional hardware.
__________________
Arroway, Injustice 2 Raid Leader

All opinions are either my own, or made up for dramatic and/or comedic effect.

Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 11-15-2018, 12:40 PM
Arroway's Avatar
Arroway Arroway is offline
Member
CAS SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: In a house
Studying for Done, bois!
College: UConn
Favorite beer: Barq's or Mug, or any local Root Beer with caffeine
Posts: 1,426
Default

Oh well, only supports 256G SATA or 512G NVMe

"The Inspiron 5570 supports the below storage configurations.

• One 2.5-inch drive, SATA 6 Gbps interface and maximum storage capacity up to 2 TB. • One M.2 SATA SSD, maximum storage capacity up to 256 GB / M.2 PCIe 3x4 NVMe SSD, maximum storage capacity up to 512 GB."
__________________
Arroway, Injustice 2 Raid Leader

All opinions are either my own, or made up for dramatic and/or comedic effect.

Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 11-15-2018, 12:45 PM
Arroway's Avatar
Arroway Arroway is offline
Member
CAS SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: In a house
Studying for Done, bois!
College: UConn
Favorite beer: Barq's or Mug, or any local Root Beer with caffeine
Posts: 1,426
Default

They do have a 500G 970 NVMe for $120. But that's a lot to spend to take it from 128 to 500, when I already have a 1 TB 860 2.5"
__________________
Arroway, Injustice 2 Raid Leader

All opinions are either my own, or made up for dramatic and/or comedic effect.

Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 11-15-2018, 12:45 PM
act_123 act_123 is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,984
Default

My laptop is a dell gamiing inspiron 7567 with 8 gb ram, 1050ti, 256GB M.2., and 7th gen core i5.

I got it last year black friday for 700.
__________________
ACAS 7 8 9
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 11-15-2018, 05:02 PM
Childish Gambino's Avatar
Childish Gambino Childish Gambino is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 32,402
Default

Do things like dishwashers go on sale for Black Friday? I really need a new one
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch McConnell
We'll be working through this process, hopefully in a fairly short period of time, in total coordination with the White House counsel's office. ... Everything I do during this, I'm coordinating with the White House Counsel. There will be no difference between the President's position and our position.
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 11-15-2018, 05:07 PM
act_123 act_123 is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,984
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Childish Gambino View Post
Do things like dishwashers go on sale for Black Friday? I really need a new one
I think so. Check Lowes/Home Depot. Maybe even bestbuy, not sure they sell that there.
__________________
ACAS 7 8 9
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 11-15-2018, 06:43 PM
Dr T Non-Fan Dr T Non-Fan is online now
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Just outside of Nowhere
Posts: 98,503
Default

https://www.homedepot.com/b/Applianc...vZc3njZ1z10atb

Already discounting.

I highly recommend the "delay start" feature. My old dishwasher had it and I loved it. Could set it after the dinner clean-up for, say, Midnight, but if I decided to raid the freezer for ice cream, I could still load the bowl in and not have a dirty bowl in the morning ('cause dishwasher already run and done), or, worse, forget to run the dishwasher after loading the bowl and catch hell in the morning.

As you might guess, my current dishwasher does not have the "delay start" feature.
__________________
"Facebook is a toilet." -- LWTwJO

"45 es un titere" -- Seal of The President of The United States of America protest art
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 11-15-2018, 06:44 PM
Dr T Non-Fan Dr T Non-Fan is online now
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Just outside of Nowhere
Posts: 98,503
Default

Or, for all BF deals:

https://www.dealnews.com/black-friday/c615/Dishwasher/
__________________
"Facebook is a toilet." -- LWTwJO

"45 es un titere" -- Seal of The President of The United States of America protest art
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 11-15-2018, 07:14 PM
DeepPurple's Avatar
DeepPurple DeepPurple is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,333
Default

So I want A new iphone (and only one) , and the one I want is $900 plus tax so let's just say $1000 (Xr 256MB) but they are on sale at "Buy two get $750 rebate."


I found out that they will activate each phone so it will be unboxed.


What is the best way to flip a brand new iphone Xr to get as close to retail as possible given a new, never used, but activated-one-time-only-open-box phone?

Can I get $800 for said brand new iphone?
__________________
Come on. Let's go space truckin'. Come on!

Last edited by DeepPurple; 11-15-2018 at 07:18 PM..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.19661 seconds with 9 queries