Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

2017 ACTUARIAL SALARY SURVEYS
Contact DW Simpson for a Personalized Salary Survey

Old 01-12-2018, 03:48 PM

Default Transamerica Outsourcing

1/11/18 Transamerica partners with Tata Consultancy Services to transform its insurance and annuities administration

https://www.transamerica.com/images/...m73-100222.pdf

I feel for those who are being outsourced.

How long before actuaries are outsourced?
Old 01-12-2018, 03:54 PM

"The majority of these expense savings is expected to benefit underlying earnings."

If I was an agent for a competing company, I'd try use this to my advantage.

I wonder how this will impact their experience, particularly persistency/renewals.
Old 01-12-2018, 04:18 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctor Who View Post
If I was an agent for a competing company, I'd try use this to my advantage.
As in, "buy from us we're more expensive"? I don't think that's how marketing works.

Their administration is pretty incompetent, don't know that this will (even could) lower the quality. I've been disputing their errors for months on admin of a 401k where the person involved is grossly incompetent. Didn't they lose a lawsuit to their own employees on, essentially, cheating the participants (i.e., their own employees) on fees? Not the same area, so perhaps the people being outsourced for annuities are competent and honest, but seems unlikely.
Old 01-12-2018, 04:59 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Westley View Post
As in, "buy from us we're more expensive"? I don't think that's how marketing works.