Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Search Actuarial Jobs by State @ DWSimpson.com:
AL AK AR AZ CA CO CT DE FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA
ME MD MA MI MN MS MO MT NE NH NJ NM NY NV NC ND
OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #71  
Old 08-27-2010, 11:15 AM
ahow's Avatar
ahow ahow is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Burninating the Indiana
Favorite beer: Stone 11th Anniversary Ale
Posts: 12,354
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by E View Post
That's odd that this would only work in Chrome. LastPass's developers should address that.
Filing a bug now.
__________________
ahow
Badass
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 08-27-2010, 11:22 AM
frisbbzepp frisbbzepp is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 780
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ahow View Post
You are probably using Firefox.
I am. Just sent an email to LastPass about this issue. The site says they give priority to support requests from Premium members, but hopefully they'll respond.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 08-27-2010, 11:24 AM
E's Avatar
E E is offline
Eddie Smith
SOA
 
Join Date: May 2003
College: UGA
Posts: 9,363
Default

Not sure if LastPass allows this, but one thing I love about 1Password is using keyboard shortcuts to trigger it in the browser.

I can simply press ALT-Command-. and it fills and submits logins. I can also bring up the "go and fill" search field by pressing "ALT-Command-/".

It really doesn't get any faster to submit logins.
__________________


Learn how FSA exams are different from the prelims

We have your exam covered:

LPM | LFMU | LFMC | LAM | ERM | QFI Quant | QFI PM | QFI IRM | G&H DP | G&H FV | G&H Sp

Check out our Technical Skills Course and our R Course!

Connect on Twitter, Facebook, & LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 08-27-2010, 12:03 PM
ahow's Avatar
ahow ahow is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Burninating the Indiana
Favorite beer: Stone 11th Anniversary Ale
Posts: 12,354
Default

Yep, in the settings there are customizable hotkeys. I haven't used them. For that matter, rarely use hotkeys in any program except Excel. Not sure why.
__________________
ahow
Badass
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 08-27-2010, 12:18 PM
frisbbzepp frisbbzepp is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 780
Default

I hope they come out with a FirefoxAnywhere/ChromeAnywhere eventually. Although I guess if I'm ever logging in on another computer, IE is almost always available.

And one thing I didn't see mentioned: what happens if my HD craps out? Since all these passwords are saved locally, do I lose them? E had mentioned in another post that using your browser to save passwords is no good for exactly that reason, but I don't see how LastPass solves that problem.
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 08-27-2010, 12:29 PM
frisbbzepp frisbbzepp is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 780
Default

Oh, I see: there's a cached copy of your passwords on your computer, but everything else is stored on LastPass servers.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 08-27-2010, 12:35 PM
ahow's Avatar
ahow ahow is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Burninating the Indiana
Favorite beer: Stone 11th Anniversary Ale
Posts: 12,354
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frisbbzepp View Post
Oh, I see: there's a cached copy of your passwords on your computer, but everything else is stored on LastPass servers.
Its sounds like you get it, but here are some details that I investigated before I started using LastPass.

LastPass has encrypted servers. On that encrypted server is your encrypted vault (basically double encryption). When you want to access your passwords, it caches a copy of the encrypted vault. Once it is securely on your computer, it is unencrypted so it can enter passwords and usernames for you. Once you are done or make changes, it re-encrypts everything and syncs it to their server.

Also, when I posted over in the forum, they allow you to use a password from 6-255 characters in length.
__________________
ahow
Badass
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 08-27-2010, 12:50 PM
E's Avatar
E E is offline
Eddie Smith
SOA
 
Join Date: May 2003
College: UGA
Posts: 9,363
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frisbbzepp View Post
Oh, I see: there's a cached copy of your passwords on your computer, but everything else is stored on LastPass servers.
Correct for LastPass.

I keep my 1Password keychain in Dropbox, so I can always get it there.

More awesomeness from Dropbox and 1P:

The iOS 1Password apps now sync automatically with Dropbox. So if you add/change anything in 1P on your computer, the changes show up in your mobile app the next time you access it (works the other way too). It's been working flawlessly for me. No more manual sync.

It gets my "it just works" stamp of approval.
__________________


Learn how FSA exams are different from the prelims

We have your exam covered:

LPM | LFMU | LFMC | LAM | ERM | QFI Quant | QFI PM | QFI IRM | G&H DP | G&H FV | G&H Sp

Check out our Technical Skills Course and our R Course!

Connect on Twitter, Facebook, & LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 08-27-2010, 02:17 PM
frisbbzepp frisbbzepp is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 780
Default

Dropbox?
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 08-27-2010, 02:28 PM
ahow's Avatar
ahow ahow is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Burninating the Indiana
Favorite beer: Stone 11th Anniversary Ale
Posts: 12,354
Default

Do I win the 250MB by being the first to post the Dropbox referral link? Yes!

Dropbox is a cross-platform syncing tool. You can put any file in it just like a regular folder and it will be synced to any computer that has dropbox installed. You can also publicly share files (like photos with your parents) as well as access your stuff from any computer through the web interface. They also have a bunch of smartphone apps.

ETA: I have my AmazonMP3 downloader set to download purchased music to Dropbox, then its automatically on my laptop, HTPC, phone, and anywhere else I can access Dropbox.
__________________
ahow
Badass
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.39259 seconds with 10 queries