Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

DW Simpson International Actuarial Jobs
Canada  Asia  Australia  Bermuda  Latin America  Europe


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 11-09-2018, 09:47 AM
Arthur Itas's Avatar
Arthur Itas Arthur Itas is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta
Studying for Prostate exam
College: Hard Knocks
Posts: 20,539
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Childish Gambino View Post
I'm very impressed by this. My wife has iphone; I wish I could switch but the guides to do so make it seem like a pain.
As someone that switched from iPhone to pixel 2 it wasn't too painful.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 11-09-2018, 10:00 AM
Pseudolus's Avatar
Pseudolus Pseudolus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kooey Kooey Kooey
Favorite beer: Four Loko
Posts: 64,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by no driver View Post
Another vote for OnePlus. I got a 3T a few years ago and loved it, very good update support from the company and not a lot of bloat over standard Android. I'd be happily using it still but I lost it earlier this year and have been waiting for the 6T to become available to replace it. Only a few more weeks to wait.
I'm still using the OP3T and don't feel a need to upgrade. This will be the first time that I use a phone for a third year. (Might have tried with the OP1, but a run-in with a church floor put a quick end to that idea.) Still does everything I need and runs smoothly and snappily. I will admit to being tempted by the Pixel 3's camera but not $700-$800 tempted. (Maybe I'll splurge next year on the Pixel 4 after telling myself about all the money I saved by not upgrading at all this year.)

For better and worse technological progress in this area has really plateaued lately. There are still some nifty things happening, but the leaps made between (in my case) LG Optimus V --> Nexus 4 --> OP1 --> OP3T were so much bigger than the marginal improvements in screen and camera that are on offer now.

(Biggest tech upgrade I've made lately is getting the Google Hub with the screen. I love that it works just like old Google Home when I'm not looking at it but has the extra screen features when I do. Seeing old photos pop up on it is a nice bonus.)
__________________
Eunt anni more fluentis aquae
Nec quae praeteriit, iterum revocabitur unda

Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 11-09-2018, 10:08 AM
Kenny's Avatar
Kenny Kenny is offline
Member
Non-Actuary
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo View Post
do some phone manufacturers and service providers still make hot spotting difficult or costly? i've used oneplus phones with straight talk or cricket for a few years now. hot spot is simple, fast, no extra cost
?

Cricket requires you have a specific plan (don't remember which one but definitely higher than the base plan) and charges you a monthly fee to use your phone as a hotspot.
__________________
Play Free Games and Win Real Money
I am a scientist. I am sorry to disappoint you but I have never seen an elf or a troll. But who am I to exclude their existence? - Arni Bjoernsson
You are stupid and evil and do not know you are stupid and evil. ... Dumb students are educated stupid. - timecube.com
Usually while I'm reading, I'm actually thinking about...midgets riding toy horses - Roto


Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 11-09-2018, 11:00 AM
PeppermintPatty's Avatar
PeppermintPatty PeppermintPatty is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 42,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo View Post
do some phone manufacturers and service providers still make hot spotting difficult or costly? i've used oneplus phones with straight talk or cricket for a few years now. hot spot is simple, fast, no extra cost
I previously used one of the AT&T resellers, StraighTalk, maybe, or another brand in that company. When I tried to set up a hot spot, it said, "you need to contact AT&T." And of course, I had no business relationship with AT&T, and couldn't do that. Maybe there was some hack I could have used to get around the restriction, but in practice, I was never able to set up a hot spot, or even tether. With my current phone, I just looked up the hot spot app and set it up. It worked with no fuss at all. It was even automatically copied into my window-shade of frequently-used system stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 11-09-2018, 12:16 PM
yoyo's Avatar
yoyo yoyo is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 23,711
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny View Post
?

Cricket requires you have a specific plan (don't remember which one but definitely higher than the base plan) and charges you a monthly fee to use your phone as a hotspot.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeppermintPatty View Post
I previously used one of the AT&T resellers, StraighTalk, maybe, or another brand in that company. When I tried to set up a hot spot, it said, "you need to contact AT&T." And of course, I had no business relationship with AT&T, and couldn't do that. Maybe there was some hack I could have used to get around the restriction, but in practice, I was never able to set up a hot spot, or even tether. With my current phone, I just looked up the hot spot app and set it up. It worked with no fuss at all. It was even automatically copied into my window-shade of frequently-used system stuff.
maybe it's a benefit of using a oneplus phone, i don't know. my cricket plan provides 8 gb high speed data, so i guess it isn't a base plan. anyway, i never had hotspot or tethering issues with oneplus and ST or cricket. no "contact carrier" messages, extra fees or any of that stuff. it just works
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 11-09-2018, 12:25 PM
PeppermintPatty's Avatar
PeppermintPatty PeppermintPatty is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 42,121
Default

Interesting. I, also, wonder if that was a quirk of oneplus. I have certainly benefited from using a not-totally-standard thing in other situations.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 11-09-2018, 02:20 PM
Pseudolus's Avatar
Pseudolus Pseudolus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kooey Kooey Kooey
Favorite beer: Four Loko
Posts: 64,109
Default

I use Mobile Hotspot occasionally, also on my OnePlus. (Usually when I wanna read comic books on my tablet during my kids music lessons.) I'm still on that super-cheapo $30 Tmo plan that they stopped selling 2 years ago now. It's not even an app, just a toggle in the settings. Never had any difficulties with it. Hadn't considered that it might be a maker-specific thing.
__________________
Eunt anni more fluentis aquae
Nec quae praeteriit, iterum revocabitur unda

Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 11-09-2018, 02:52 PM
yoyo's Avatar
yoyo yoyo is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 23,711
Default

yeah, it's a standard option in system settings. fwiw, i'm not rooted or anything - just a stock setup
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 11-09-2018, 02:54 PM
PeppermintPatty's Avatar
PeppermintPatty PeppermintPatty is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 42,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo View Post
yeah, it's a standard option in system settings. fwiw, i'm not rooted or anything - just a stock setup
My current one is actually a system setting, although I'm not sure there's a bright line between "app" and "system setting".
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 11-09-2018, 05:37 PM
ahow's Avatar
ahow ahow is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Burninating the Indiana
Favorite beer: Stone 11th Anniversary Ale
Posts: 12,352
Default

I'll add that on Cricket and ST with my various Nexuses and Pixels, I could not get hotspot to work. They couldn't even add it as an option because I didn't have a garbage Cricket specific phone that was supported.
__________________
ahow
Badass
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.21717 seconds with 9 queries