Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #221  
Old 10-11-2017, 11:55 PM
Childish Gambino's Avatar
Childish Gambino Childish Gambino is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 20,554
Default

Can you connect to other folders on that server? EG at my company can't see server folders like that at all.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pseudolus View Post
Trump's biggest weakness is that he utterly lacks the knowledge, experience, interest, attention span, temperament, and common decency to be the marginally effective President of a reasonably-large HOA.
Reply With Quote
  #222  
Old 10-12-2017, 09:49 AM
ActSciMan's Avatar
ActSciMan ActSciMan is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Studying for my family
Posts: 1,841
Default

In my experience, that error message tells me it can't find the drive. That could happen for various reasons such as you typed it in incorrectly. It could be syntax. It could be that you typed the folder in incorrectly. If it's a shared drive, you have to write out the full path. For example, if you mapped it to W, you can't type W, you have to type out whatever W stands for. It looks like you already did that, just trying to cover all the bases. I don't have any experience with Unix, but it looks like those specifics have been covered above.

Or, it could be a Firewall rule that prevents the SAS server from connecting to that drive, in which case only IT can fix it, and it may take a while. They have to open up the connection to that specific shared drive. Has anyone else ever connected to that drive?

Your best bet is to talk to someone at your company who already uses the SAS server to see how they do it (or find their code). This will give you the correct syntax, and maybe even the exact code you're looking for. If you can't find any other code, which would be really weird, then try connecting to other drives to see if that works (this could help you know you have the correct syntax and it's just the drive in question). And, lastly, contact whoever is in charge of the server and just ask them how to do it.

Last edited by ActSciMan; 10-12-2017 at 09:59 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #223  
Old 10-12-2017, 11:05 AM
LICENSED TO ILL's Avatar
LICENSED TO ILL LICENSED TO ILL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 456
Default

Looks like I will have to go to the person in charge of SAS/UNIX server.
__________________
Spoiler:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abelian Grape View Post
Nothing gay about mirin' another bro's gains.
Quote:
Originally Posted by campbell View Post
Want to become aware of my fist?
Reply With Quote
  #224  
Old 10-31-2017, 05:08 PM
LICENSED TO ILL's Avatar
LICENSED TO ILL LICENSED TO ILL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 456
Default

I ended up asking for, and getting, a SAS-Server Folder with 4 gig storage for my team. That should be eaten up quick.

Going to store my excel-imported assumption files and the output needed to fill in the excel model (and to create other ad-hoc projects).
__________________
Spoiler:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abelian Grape View Post
Nothing gay about mirin' another bro's gains.
Quote:
Originally Posted by campbell View Post
Want to become aware of my fist?
Reply With Quote
  #225  
Old 11-10-2017, 05:04 PM
LICENSED TO ILL's Avatar
LICENSED TO ILL LICENSED TO ILL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 456
Default

I am updating code in another's program and have tried a few times to get a loop+macro to work for this in a data step:


if X = 1 then BASE_CC = ORIG_CC1;
if X = 2 then BASE_CC = ORIG_CC2;
if X = 3 then BASE_CC = ORIG_CC3;
if X = 4 then BASE_CC = ORIG_CC4;
if X = 5 then BASE_CC = ORIG_CC5;

etc...


Can anyone help me look like a SASballer plz?
__________________
Spoiler:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abelian Grape View Post
Nothing gay about mirin' another bro's gains.
Quote:
Originally Posted by campbell View Post
Want to become aware of my fist?
Reply With Quote
  #226  
Old 11-10-2017, 05:16 PM
ALivelySedative's Avatar
ALivelySedative ALivelySedative is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Land of the Pine
College: UNC-Chapel Hill Alum
Favorite beer: Red Oak
Posts: 1,595
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LICENSED TO ILL View Post
I am updating code in another's program and have tried a few times to get a loop+macro to work for this in a data step:


if X = 1 then BASE_CC = ORIG_CC1;
if X = 2 then BASE_CC = ORIG_CC2;
if X = 3 then BASE_CC = ORIG_CC3;
if X = 4 then BASE_CC = ORIG_CC4;
if X = 5 then BASE_CC = ORIG_CC5;

etc...


Can anyone help me look like a SASballer plz?
Do you need a macro for this? Or a loop? Just concatenate?
Code:
base_cc = 'orig_cc'||x;
__________________
1/P | 2/FM | 3F/MFE | LC | ST |4/C | 5 | 6 || 7 | 8 | 9
VEE: Econ, Fin, Stat
OC1, OC2
COP
Reply With Quote
  #227  
Old 11-10-2017, 05:38 PM
Childish Gambino's Avatar
Childish Gambino Childish Gambino is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 20,554
Default

%let origCat = X;
base_cc = orig_cc&origCat;
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pseudolus View Post
Trump's biggest weakness is that he utterly lacks the knowledge, experience, interest, attention span, temperament, and common decency to be the marginally effective President of a reasonably-large HOA.
Reply With Quote
  #228  
Old 11-10-2017, 05:39 PM
Childish Gambino's Avatar
Childish Gambino Childish Gambino is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 20,554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ALivelySedative View Post
Do you need a macro for this? Or a loop? Just concatenate?
Code:
base_cc = 'orig_cc'||x;
This will assign the string 'orig_cc#'. He wants a variable called orig_cc#
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pseudolus View Post
Trump's biggest weakness is that he utterly lacks the knowledge, experience, interest, attention span, temperament, and common decency to be the marginally effective President of a reasonably-large HOA.
Reply With Quote
  #229  
Old 11-10-2017, 07:10 PM
JMO's Avatar
JMO JMO is offline
Carol Marler
Non-Actuary
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Back home again in Indiana
Studying for Nothing actuarial.
Posts: 36,492
Default

I don't know SAS. Does it have something like the CASE statement in other languages? That looks like the structure needed here.
__________________
Carol Marler, "Just My Opinion"

Pluto is no longer a planet and I am no longer an actuary. Please take my opinions as non-actuarial.


My latest favorite quotes, updated Oct 13, 2017.

Spoiler:
I should keep these four permanently.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekrap View Post
JMO is right
Quote:
Originally Posted by campbell View Post
I agree with JMO.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westley View Post
And def agree w/ JMO.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MG View Post
This. And everything else JMO wrote.
And this all purpose permanent quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr T Non-Fan View Post
Yup, it is always someone else's fault.
MORE:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bro View Post
I recommend you get perspective.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enough Exams Already View Post
Dude, you can't fail a personality test. It just isn't that kind of test.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Locrian View Post
I'm disappointed I don't get to do both.
Reply With Quote
  #230  
Old 11-10-2017, 08:09 PM
Whiskey's Avatar
Whiskey Whiskey is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Studying for nothing at all
Posts: 36,037
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LICENSED TO ILL View Post
I am updating code in another's program and have tried a few times to get a loop+macro to work for this in a data step:


if X = 1 then BASE_CC = ORIG_CC1;
if X = 2 then BASE_CC = ORIG_CC2;
if X = 3 then BASE_CC = ORIG_CC3;
if X = 4 then BASE_CC = ORIG_CC4;
if X = 5 then BASE_CC = ORIG_CC5;

etc...


Can anyone help me look like a SASballer plz?
Write a simple macro

Iterate through it with a "do while loop" as many #s you need, passing the "i" to the macro.

Can write you something tomorrow if you still need it (or someone else doesn't beat me to it).
__________________
Whiskey "on tap" - 12/31/15
Spoiler:

Bourbon(16)
Pappy Van Winkle-Family Reserve 15yr & lot "B" 12yr
Baker's 7yr
Blanton's
Knob Creek - 9yr
Basil Hayden
Maker's Mark - 46 & Cask Strength
Woodford Reserve
Jack Daniel's-Gentleman Jack, Single Barrel & Old #7
Four Roses Small Batch
Noah's Mill
Kirkland Bourbon - 7yr

Rye(6)
Angle Envy's - Finished Rye
Ravenswood Rye
Bulleit
High West - Double Rye
Whistle Pig - 10 yr
Old Overholt

Scotch(4)
Glenfiddich - The Distiller's Edition
Tomatin 12yr
The Dimple Pinch - 15 yr
Dewar's White Label

Irish(6)

Middleton Very Rare
Redbreast 12yr
Bushmill - Single Malt 16 yr
Connemarai
Jameson - Caskmates Stout and Regular
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.33046 seconds with 10 queries