Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

DW Simpson Global Actuarial & Analytics Recruitment
Download our 2017 Actuarial Salary Survey
now with state-by-state salary information!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-23-2018, 10:34 AM
Rick_G's Avatar
Rick_G Rick_G is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Just south of the Big Chicken
Posts: 2,201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Incredible Hulctuary View Post
4GB is a bit of a strain for Windows 7. Bump up the RAM to at least 8 GB and you'll see some real improvement.
__________________
Rick Groszkiewicz


Now offering online seminars and everything else under the sun for actuarial exams.
EA-2F and EA-2L and EA-1
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-23-2018, 10:48 AM
llcooljabe's Avatar
llcooljabe llcooljabe is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 23,069
Default

re multiple browser issue: use an adblocker extension on your browser.

also if you use chrome, this extension is extremely helpful: (not sure if it's available for Firefox): The Great Suspender. It basically "screen savers" unused tabs in your browser until you refresh.
__________________
www.GoodNewsNow.info
Propoganda
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-23-2018, 10:51 AM
mathmajor's Avatar
mathmajor mathmajor is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nowhere in particular
Studying for Japanese
College: B.S. Applied Math
Favorite beer: La Croix Grapefruit
Posts: 10,005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Incredible Hulctuary View Post
4GB is a bit of a strain for Windows 7. Bump up the RAM to at least 8 GB and you'll see some real improvement.
Agreed. 8GB is a minimum standard these days.
__________________
3.14159 26535 89793 23846 26433 83279 50288 41971 69399 37510 58209 74944 59230 78164 06286 20899 86280 34825 34211 70679 82148 08651 32823 06647 09384 46095 50582 23172 53594 08128 48111 74502 84102 70193 85211 05559 64462 29489 54930 38196 44288 10975 66593 34461 28475 64823 37867 83165 27120 19091 45648 56692 34603 48610 45432 66482 13393 60726 02491 41273 72458 70066 06315 58817 48815 20920 96282 92540
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-01-2018, 01:36 PM
DjPim's Avatar
DjPim DjPim is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: SoCal
Posts: 363
Default

Are you set on a laptop rather than a desktop? As mentioned before, desktops bring a lot more power/$ due to the inconvenience, though adding the cost of an initial keyboard/mouse/monitor/speakers may skew that if you don't have any of the needed peripherals.

I have built a few desktops myself, one with a 1k budget that works very well (i5-7600k processor, 16gb ram, 500gb SSD, gtx 1060 gpu)

If you're just using it for home office use (whether laptop or desktop), you don't need a dedicated GPU and can probably go with 128/256gb SSD with a 1-2TB HDD, 8gb RAM may be enough, but if you can get 16 do it.

Parts I would look for with budget in mind:
i3-8100 processor (4 core, 3.6ghz, integrated graphics, $120 amazon)
16GB DDR4 (2133 or 2400mhz) RAM (~$150)
SSD Storage (can find 480gb for $100, 1TB for $210 on amazon)
[If more storage is needed than found in SSD, get an extra 1-2 TB HDD, $40-60)

Places like Fry's will assemble everything for you for about $70 if you don't want to do it yourself. If you want a laptop, you can try to find some similar qualities in processor / RAM / storage, as those will be highest impact for your speed.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr T Non-Fan View Post
"Cali" SMH.

Last edited by DjPim; 06-01-2018 at 02:20 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-06-2018, 02:56 PM
ahow's Avatar
ahow ahow is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Burninating the Indiana
Favorite beer: Stone 11th Anniversary Ale
Posts: 12,330
Default

In addition to "more RAM" if you have a spinning hard drive, replacing it with a solid state (SSD) you will see a huge boost as well. I had a 2009 MacBook that worked almost as well as a 2014 MBA after I put the SSD and 8gb of RAM in. Of course it still only got about an hour on the battery and put out copious amounts of heat, but certainly opened webpages well enough.
__________________
ahow
Badass
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-07-2018, 04:45 PM
mathmajor's Avatar
mathmajor mathmajor is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nowhere in particular
Studying for Japanese
College: B.S. Applied Math
Favorite beer: La Croix Grapefruit
Posts: 10,005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ahow View Post
In addition to "more RAM" if you have a spinning hard drive, replacing it with a solid state (SSD) you will see a huge boost as well. I had a 2009 MacBook that worked almost as well as a 2014 MBA after I put the SSD and 8gb of RAM in. Of course it still only got about an hour on the battery and put out copious amounts of heat, but certainly opened webpages well enough.
Macs just work.

For an hour.
__________________
3.14159 26535 89793 23846 26433 83279 50288 41971 69399 37510 58209 74944 59230 78164 06286 20899 86280 34825 34211 70679 82148 08651 32823 06647 09384 46095 50582 23172 53594 08128 48111 74502 84102 70193 85211 05559 64462 29489 54930 38196 44288 10975 66593 34461 28475 64823 37867 83165 27120 19091 45648 56692 34603 48610 45432 66482 13393 60726 02491 41273 72458 70066 06315 58817 48815 20920 96282 92540
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.19474 seconds with 9 queries