Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > General Actuarial
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Salary Surveys
Property & Casualty, Life, Health & Pension

Health Actuary Jobs
Insurance & Consulting jobs for Students, Associates & Fellows

Actuarial Recruitment
Visit DW Simpson's website for more info.
www.dwsimpson.com/about

Casualty Jobs
Property & Casualty jobs for Students, Associates & Fellows

General Actuarial Non-Specific Actuarial Topics - Before posting a thread, please browse over our other sections to see if there is a better fit, such as Careers - Employment, Actuarial Science Universities Forum or any of our other 100+ forums.

Old 05-30-2017, 05:28 AM
Non-Actuary

College: 2016 High School Graduate (Australia)
Default Advice please. Struggling first year uni student

Hi everyone. As title says, I'm currently a first year student needing advice. I'm currently in my first semester of the actuarial studies major at University of Melbourne (Australia), so don't start any actual actuary subjects until next semester (currently taking accounting, finance, micro economics and maths). I'm finding the maths subject very difficult, especially the proofs side of things, and general type questions. However, up to taking this subject I had always done well in and enjoyed maths (hence why I'm interested in actuary), and have still done well in finance, which has consisted of mainly financial maths, and I felt that I've been understanding the theory behind the formulas too.

So my main question is, if I struggle with the proofs and 'general' questions (I.e. Without concrete examples, e.g determining dimension of image and kernel for linear transformation that maps any square 3*3 matrix to its trace), does this mean I should give up the actuarial dream now before I waste too much money? Thanks
Old 05-30-2017, 06:17 AM

Favorite beer: the closest one