Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Upload your resume securely at https://www.dwsimpson.com
to be contacted when new jobs meet your skills and objectives.

Old 05-20-2018, 11:35 AM

College: Annamalai University
Default IT Skills with Actuarial Papers

Hello,

I have 18 years of experience in IT (system administration) and I have cleared 4 actuarial papers (CT1, CT3, CT7, CT9) for IFoA. Parallel to that I have also earned MBA in Financial Management in recent past.

Now I want to know that if I should continue with Actuarial Education (rest of papers). I have studied for CT5 and CT6 and but not given papers as of now (most likely I should be able to clear them both in one to one a half years if I work in this direction. I want to know if I should pursue my actuarial education. Can I blend my IT knowledge with Actuarial Skills as I have experience in IT but not in Actuarial Science.

Your inputs, thoughts will help me to take the better decision whether to go further with Actuarial papers or not as it takes a lot of time, effort and money to pursue Actuarial Education.
Old 05-20-2018, 12:41 PM
CAS

College: Jamba Juice University
Favorite beer: AO Amber Ale

Yes you can. There are a lot of requests that actuarial makes of IT, that IT says will take 3 weeks or whatever, like data access. Then when we call 3 weeks later they be all like, 'yo I got tied up with something so that'll take another 2 weeks.'

Since you have IT experience you can call bullshit on that and tell your superiors that having been on the other side, you know the request takes 5 minutes to resolve.

No joke. Time is money.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wigmeister General View Post
Don't you even think about sending me your resume. I'll turn it into an origami boulder and return it to you.
Old 05-20-2018, 02:31 PM
CAS Non-Actuary