Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Actuarial Science Universities Forum > Renmin Univ. of China
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions


Renmin Univ. of China Risk Management & Actuarial Science
School of Statistics
http://stat.ruc.edu.cn/en/

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2012, 12:03 PM
DataDan's Avatar
DataDan DataDan is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: East Coast US
Posts: 2,808
Default Desensitized to CPU claims on resume?

To anyone who receives and reviews a considerable amount of resumes,

do listed cpu competencies on an EL resume mean anything to you? Even on non-El resumes, how much could you get from "proficient in Excel and access". I feel like every resume posted here on the outpost has this line in it.

I would try to link the cpu abilities to some kind of experience (ie 2 years in the field would lead me to believe vba, excel, access, or sql knowledge), but for the EL resumes they just seem like blank claims.

You know, its Friday. I don't really want to run/troubleshoot this vba tool...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2012, 12:28 PM
Colonel Smoothie's Avatar
Colonel Smoothie Colonel Smoothie is online now
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
College: Jamba Juice University
Favorite beer: AO Amber Ale
Posts: 45,177
Default

CPU, like multithreading, or something?
__________________
Recommended Readings for the EL Actuary || Recommended Readings for the EB Actuary

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wigmeister General View Post
Don't you even think about sending me your resume. I'll turn it into an origami boulder and return it to you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-01-2012, 12:45 PM
dukelampard's Avatar
dukelampard dukelampard is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Studying for FCAS
Posts: 12,022
Default

What's CPU?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-01-2012, 01:06 PM
clam clam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 574
Default

For computer filter purpose, you need to put Excel and Access even if you rarely use them.

And why an actuary needs to know about CPU? This is for software engineer or computer science stuff. Maybe CPCU?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-02-2012, 10:59 AM
Snagus Snagus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,607
Default

Many times your resume has to filter through HR first. It might be obvious to you that certain actuarial jobs imply Excel proficiency, but if it's not listed somewhere on the resume then HR will not assume anything. If, in my job request, I have Excel as a minimum requirement then my current HR might ignore resumes that don't explicitly list it. In other places HR might only be filtering out resumes that don't meet minimum education requirements and it is up to me to determine if the candidate has the minimum technical knowledge.

If you are talking about something else then substitute that for Excel in the above paragraph.
__________________
The best time to put a beer in the freezer was 20 minutes ago. The second best time was 19 minutes ago.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.28870 seconds with 11 queries