Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #91  
Old 03-09-2018, 10:33 AM
Egghead's Avatar
Egghead Egghead is online now
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by panther View Post
I had u-verse gigabit internet and it was every bit as fast as described. I don't have it anymore because I moved a few streets away and it's not available :\
I asked on my neighborhood's discussion board, and they said the same. I'm signed up to get it Tuesday!
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 03-09-2018, 11:20 AM
Arthur Itas's Avatar
Arthur Itas Arthur Itas is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 18,083
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthur Itas View Post
Perhaps. The latest public information I could find the last time I looked was that they had indefinitely postponed / frozen plans for planned build outs in new cities but they were going to continue installations in their current markets. Maybe I'll do a little research over the weekend. I did just send another email to Google Fiber for a status update. They've generally answered something like "We apologize. It's still coming, but we can't give specific dates for every address. We appreciate your patience."
Their response
Quote:
Originally Posted by google fiber

Dear Arthur Itas,

Thank you so much for contacting Google Fiber email support! We appreciate your continued interest in Google Fiber services and will do our best to assist you and answer any questions you may have.

We apologize that you've been waiting so long but thank you for your patience! From what I can find, there still isn't a set time for when Fiber will be installed but we do intend to deliver services. Since we don't have a set time for when Fiber will be available, please stay with another provider who can supply what you need. We don't want you to go without services. We'll keep moving forward and provide any updates we have available if you ever wish to check in. I hope we can deliver some good news very soon!
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 03-14-2018, 10:16 AM
Egghead's Avatar
Egghead Egghead is online now
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,409
Default

Got the AT&T Fiber installed yesterday. Their "Gateway" (combo modem/router) wasn't the best for WiFi. So I turned off its WiFi radio and set up my Orbi (with two satellites, from Costco) as an Access Point. I'm consistently getting download and upload speeds over 300MB, which is a very nice improvement. I'm sure I'd get much higher through Ethernet connection, but my house was built before that really took off.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.15068 seconds with 12 queries