Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

DW Simpson Global Actuarial & Analytics Recruitment
Download our Actuarial Salary Survey
now with state-by-state salary information!

Old 02-18-2011, 06:32 PM

Default What can this career-changer do to be a more attractive hire? (Resume advice)

I realize that I have some factors working against me: I have a Master's degree in an unrelated field and my work experience is not in a business environment.

But I have some things that I feel would be attractive to an employer. Excellent GPA, 2 exams (got a 10 on 1/P), SAT 790 Math/780 Verbal (back when it was only out of 1600), and GRE 800 Math/720 Verbal. I also am an independent worker and BELOVED at my job. Both my current positions require good interpersonal skills.

I have tried to get both entry-level and intern positions but with no luck.

1. What things can I invest in doing/learning to make me a more attractive candidate?

2. Are there things on my resume that should be removed or re-framed? Is there something on here that is scaring employers?

Thank you all for your wisdom and willingness to help.
Attached Images
File Type: pdf resume anon.pdf (60.3 KB, 379 views)
Old 02-18-2011, 08:44 PM
CAS SOA

Studying for CAS 5
College: University of British Columbia '10

The usual advice:

1) Drop Word and PowerPoint, or at least put them after Excel and Access.
2) Inconsequential job descriptions should be dropped. Talk about your accomplishments on the job. Your potential employer can probably infer that you graded homework while working as a math teaching intern.
3) More white space. The value of words is overrated. A sparsely spaced résumé containing noteworthy information is better than a dense one packed full of fluff.
Old 02-18-2011, 08:47 PM
SOA