Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Search Actuarial Jobs by State @ DWSimpson.com:
AL AK AR AZ CA CO CT DE FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA
ME MD MA MI MN MS MO MT NE NH NJ NM NY NV NC ND
OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-19-2017, 03:51 AM
Woodrow's Avatar
Woodrow Woodrow is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by campbell View Post
In my own case, it was something I did -- a Monte Carlo model for a lifecycle mutual fund. I really shouldn't have done it (at least I didn't use RAND()...and that's about the only good thing I can say about it), but there ya go.....
That's about the dumbest thing I've ever done in a professional setting.
Why was this inappropriate? At my last job I built a Monte Carlo model in Excel, it seemed to work fine.

It took about two hours to run. I'm sure there is more efficient software, but it seemed to work. It certainly isn't "the dumbest thing I've ever done in a professional setting."
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-19-2017, 07:20 AM
campbell's Avatar
campbell campbell is offline
Mary Pat Campbell
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Studying for duolingo and coursera
Favorite beer: Murphy's Irish Stout
Posts: 79,406
Blog Entries: 6
Default

The dumbest thing was when I copy/pasted the histograms & other graphs that resulted into Word docs.

Which embedded the spreadsheet, with its million scenario points, within the document multiple times.

That's not even the stupid part yet -- I emailed the file to a bunch of senior people in the company. We had mail quotas then (but obviously no filter checking that the attachments were too big) and I got the email accts of a few executives locked up.

I didn't even realize what had caused my Word docs to be so big til years later.
__________________
It's STUMP

LinkedIn Profile
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-19-2017, 07:52 AM
Marcie's Avatar
Marcie Marcie is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5,727
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by llcooljabe View Post
I use excel to write memos all the time. I use them for rate filings that I do annually, when I have to embed numbers into the wording. I use formulas for some of the text.

e.g. ="The credibility weighted loss ratio for "&A1&" is "&text(a2,"0.0%")&"."

It's cumbersome but only the first time, but it's better than searching a word doc for all the numbers to change and accidentally missing one.
Isn't that what something like "mail merge" is for?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-19-2017, 07:55 AM
Marcie's Avatar
Marcie Marcie is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5,727
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by campbell View Post
The dumbest thing was when I copy/pasted the histograms & other graphs that resulted into Word docs.

Which embedded the spreadsheet, with its million scenario points, within the document multiple times.

That's not even the stupid part yet -- I emailed the file to a bunch of senior people in the company. We had mail quotas then (but obviously no filter checking that the attachments were too big) and I got the email accts of a few executives locked up.

I didn't even realize what had caused my Word docs to be so big til years later.
Since you embedded your Monte Carlo model into the Word document, did it change every time it was opened/refreshed?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-19-2017, 10:49 AM
AndrewC's Avatar
AndrewC AndrewC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 946
Default

I drew a floor plan in a spreadsheet and I would never do it again.
__________________
AC.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-19-2017, 10:51 AM
llcooljabe's Avatar
llcooljabe llcooljabe is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 21,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcie View Post
Isn't that what something like "mail merge" is for?
Probably, yeah, but I like to keep everything in one file.
__________________
www.GoodNewsNow.info
Propoganda
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-19-2017, 10:53 AM
llcooljabe's Avatar
llcooljabe llcooljabe is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 21,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewC View Post
I drew a floor plan in a spreadsheet and I would never do it again.
When I first started working I thought it would be good to use a spreadsheet to visually model and then use that model the parallelogram on-level premium method. thankfully it took me only one morning to realize how dumb it was, and I just figured it out formulaicly (is that a word?).
__________________
www.GoodNewsNow.info
Propoganda
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-19-2017, 11:28 AM
MG's Avatar
MG MG is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Midwest
Posts: 4,666
Default

Not so much overall use of the spreadsheet, but for the first few years I was writing macros to copy columns of numbers and paste them into rows (or vice versa).

Then someone pointed out the "Transpose" option in the Paste Special dialog box.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-19-2017, 12:56 PM
DeepPurple's Avatar
DeepPurple DeepPurple is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,896
Default

Most Inappropriate Use of Spreadsheet?

3 words: Nested IF Statements
__________________
Come on. Let's go space truckin'. Come on!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-19-2017, 01:01 PM
DeepPurple's Avatar
DeepPurple DeepPurple is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,896
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MG View Post
Not so much overall use of the spreadsheet, but for the first few years I was writing macros to copy columns of numbers and paste them into rows (or vice versa).

Then someone pointed out the "Transpose" option in the Paste Special dialog box.
For years, I used a macro that took a list in column form and selected out exactly 1 of each item in the list. I called it my Unique Element macro. It sorted the list then added another column that found the first occurrence of each item. Later I found that there is a special paste that eliminates duplicates from a list as it copies. Much easier now. The keystrokes are " /DFAORT "
__________________
Come on. Let's go space truckin'. Come on!

Last edited by DeepPurple; 10-19-2017 at 01:05 PM..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.24433 seconds with 9 queries